Trucking Jobs New Driver Jobs Flatbed Jobs Tanker Jobs Refrigerated Jobs Auto Hauler Jobs
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Vue cube

  1. #11
    Money Bags DEMO's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Trucker?
    19 Years
    Age
    41
    Posts
    480
    Thanks
    351
    Thanked: 347 Times
    Quote Originally Posted by transam pete View Post
    anyone on here with a vqube in midwest? who installed yours
    i heard there is a guy in west memphis
    4 months with no tv is enough
    i already have direct tv at home is price just added to your home account like adding a reciever?
    trans am never goes to oregon or i would have you do dieselboss or your info is appreciated

    I have a friend that has a boat. Directv wanted to charge him a arm & leg for a marine application. He just ordered another receiver to his house & put it on his boat. That was over a year ago & no problems.


  2. #12
    Technology Contributor Dieselboss's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Albany, Ory-gun
    Trucker?
    Trucking Industry
    Posts
    1,083
    Thanks
    510
    Thanked: 786 Times
    Quote Originally Posted by transam pete View Post
    anyone on here with a vqube in midwest? who installed yours
    i heard there is a guy in west memphis
    4 months with no tv is enough
    i already have direct tv at home is price just added to your home account like adding a reciever?
    trans am never goes to oregon or i would have you do dieselboss or your info is appreciated
    It's super easy when you already have Dish or Direct at home. If you have an extra receiver already that is activated in your house then just use that. If you do not have an extra one then tell Direct TV that you want another receiver added to your account and they only charge like $6 bucks per month for that receiver. But plug it into your house and make sure that it is activated there first. You can do it in the truck but you have to get on the phone with someone and go through the whole verification process out there instead. It's just easier to make sure it is a fully active receiver when it comes to your house since you already have the service there. The only other consideration is to make sure that the "DISH Type" is set to "18-inch round" in the actual dish receiver settings for the Vu Qube to use it. Most houses these days have big oblong HD dishes on the roof and so forth. And that is a SETTING. Vu Qube needs to be set to 18-inch round regardless of what you had it on when you tested the receiver initially in your house.

    Cheers.

  3. #13
    Light Load Member Shadowed's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Northern Wisconsin
    Trucker?
    6 Years
    Age
    45
    Posts
    244
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked: 83 Times
    Quote Originally Posted by Dieselboss View Post
    It's super easy when you already have Dish or Direct at home. If you have an extra receiver already that is activated in your house then just use that. If you do not have an extra one then tell Direct TV that you want another receiver added to your account and they only charge like $6 bucks per month for that receiver. But plug it into your house and make sure that it is activated there first. You can do it in the truck but you have to get on the phone with someone and go through the whole verification process out there instead. It's just easier to make sure it is a fully active receiver when it comes to your house since you already have the service there. The only other consideration is to make sure that the "DISH Type" is set to "18-inch round" in the actual dish receiver settings for the Vu Qube to use it. Most houses these days have big oblong HD dishes on the roof and so forth. And that is a SETTING. Vu Qube needs to be set to 18-inch round regardless of what you had it on when you tested the receiver initially in your house.

    Cheers.
    I guess that kind of answers my question. I have Directv at home when I called they wanted to sell me a reciever for the vuqube for 69.95. But what you are saying is just tell them it is for the house and it is 6.00 a month? I guess another question would be if I went that route and they sent me an HD reciever will it work with the qube? Also what about the local networks that I have now as well as the football package. I guess what I am saying is if I get a fourth reciever for the house and activate it in the house then move it too the truck will I still get the programing that I have at the house?

  4. #14
    Money Bags DEMO's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Trucker?
    19 Years
    Age
    41
    Posts
    480
    Thanks
    351
    Thanked: 347 Times
    Directv is programed by your zip code, that's how they identify your location for local channels. Your programming in the truck should mirror yours at the house, including local channels regardless of your location.

  5. #15
    Crusty old ###### Cranky Yankee's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Green Bay Wi
    Trucker?
    15 Years
    Posts
    8,766
    Thanks
    1,286
    Thanked: 14,930 Times
    hd does not work with vu qube

  6. #16
    Light Load Member Ukumfe's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2008
    Trucker?
    22 Years
    Posts
    243
    Thanks
    1,053
    Thanked: 410 Times
    Quote Originally Posted by DEMO View Post
    Directv is programed by your zip code, that's how they identify your location for local channels. Your programming in the truck should mirror yours at the house, including local channels regardless of your location.

    I have a V10 and have had it for 4 years. I use DirectTV and local channels will not work. The reason I was told, is not DirectTV, but the VuQube. Satellite dishes require something ( not sure what it's called ) to receive the local channels. The VQ being in a small enclosure and also requiring the ability to rotate is missing that part. I think it's that piece that sticks out in front of the dish, look a little like a hook of sorts. I think that part captures the analog ( old ) or digital (new ) signals and converts them to something the dish can understand. Then the dish converts i them to something the receiver in your house can understand. Then the receiver converts it all to something your eyes can understand.

    Perhaps newer VQ's have resolved this I don't know.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Ukumfe For This Useful Post:


  8. #17
    Light Load Member Ukumfe's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2008
    Trucker?
    22 Years
    Posts
    243
    Thanks
    1,053
    Thanked: 410 Times
    Quote Originally Posted by transam pete View Post
    hd does not work with vu qube


    HD availability on V10 V20 V30

    HD availability on VQ1000-3000

    HD works on the VQ, just not on all of them. DirecTV is the biggest loser there as well, it isn't available on any of them.

    I've been doing quite a bit of research lately. I have a new truck coming and I've been comparing VQ and Wineguard systems. HD is not available on either system if you use DirecTv. That bums me out.

  9. #18
    Money Bags DEMO's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Trucker?
    19 Years
    Age
    41
    Posts
    480
    Thanks
    351
    Thanked: 347 Times
    Quote Originally Posted by Ukumfe View Post
    I have a V10 and have had it for 4 years. I use DirectTV and local channels will not work. The reason I was told, is not DirectTV, but the VuQube. Satellite dishes require something ( not sure what it's called ) to receive the local channels. The VQ being in a small enclosure and also requiring the ability to rotate is missing that part. I think it's that piece that sticks out in front of the dish, look a little like a hook of sorts. I think that part captures the analog ( old ) or digital (new ) signals and converts them to something the dish can understand. Then the dish converts i them to something the receiver in your house can understand. Then the receiver converts it all to something your eyes can understand.

    Perhaps newer VQ's have resolved this I don't know.
    Well that sux... Good info.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to DEMO For This Useful Post:


  11. #19
    Technology Contributor Dieselboss's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Albany, Ory-gun
    Trucker?
    Trucking Industry
    Posts
    1,083
    Thanks
    510
    Thanked: 786 Times
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowed View Post
    I guess that kind of answers my question. I have Directv at home when I called they wanted to sell me a reciever for the vuqube for 69.95. But what you are saying is just tell them it is for the house and it is 6.00 a month? I guess another question would be if I went that route and they sent me an HD reciever will it work with the qube? Also what about the local networks that I have now as well as the football package. I guess what I am saying is if I get a fourth reciever for the house and activate it in the house then move it too the truck will I still get the programing that I have at the house?
    Here's the scoop. DISCLAIMER: I am not a lawyer. The satellite companies "want" you to identify the receiver as a mobile one and charge you for their roaming package. So I am merely stating how the technology works. What you do is what you do with the info.

    A. You won't get your "home local" channels once you are outside of the zip code radius of your home unless you pay Dish or Direct for their mobile package.

    B. You will still get all of your "non-local" channels that you get at home regardless. You will still get any movie and sports packages that you have paid for at home (NFL, Nascar, MLB, HBO, ShowTime, etc.)

    C. A VuQube WILL work in HD with Dish Network but not with DirectTV. HD does not make a significant viewing difference until you get to larger TV screen sizes. The size of the TV's in most trucks look very good in standard def. But if HD is a big requirement for you anyway, then you need to use Dish Network as the provider on a VuQube.

    D. If you use the "Tailgater" model then then that one is only for Dish Network and they know that it is a mobile unit. So therefore that package is already prebundled with features like roaming locals and the ability to turn the bill on and off at will from month to month (designed for RV people who only use it during particular times of the year.)

  12. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dieselboss For This Useful Post:


Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •