Trucking Jobs New Driver Jobs Flatbed Jobs Tanker Jobs Refrigerated Jobs Auto Hauler Jobs
Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 101
  1. #21
    Road Train Member Pur48Ted's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Trucker?
    17 Years
    Age
    59
    Posts
    3,600
    Thanks
    3,468
    Thanked: 5,946 Times
    Quote Originally Posted by Elvenhome21 View Post
    Dont you run into a problem when your cranking your truck over and it gets stuck on that low voltage warning sound. Or do you shut the switch off when your starting your truck
    No, I have left my inverter on for days while the truck is parked at home, and once the truck batteries get back into range the low voltage warning buzzer stops. But I DO try to shut it off when I am home.


  2. #22
    Trucker Forum STAFF Brickman's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2006
    Location
    WY
    Trucker?
    EX-7 Years
    Age
    40
    Posts
    12,896
    Thanks
    10,058
    Thanked: 12,118 Times
    I have to agree with the 3000w working many times better than the 1000w I had.

    The 3000w ran the batteries down far less than the 1000w on standby. And generated far less heat doing so. With the bigger one the cooling fans rarely came on. With the small one the cooling was always running.

    Another very nice feature I have to recommend with the Cobra brand is they have a remote on/off with approx 20' of cable. Very convenient!

  3. #23
    Light Load Member RLIGHT276's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Altoona Pa
    Trucker?
    5 Years
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked: 4 Times
    Can anyone tell me what guage of cable would be good to use,I have a 2500 watt cobra inverter and was looking to get some welding cable to hook it up but don't know what guage to get.Thanks

  4. #24
    Medium Load Member FREEBRD's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Lafollette tn
    Trucker?
    9 Years
    Posts
    500
    Thanks
    336
    Thanked: 116 Times
    Ok! Im on my third cpi-2575 cobra 3000 watt inverter biggest one # truckstops .has been wired exactly as described in this forum!
    When it goes it always says ol-overload, only thing i run is a small fan and my laptop.
    Have no problem plugging the smaller cobras into cig slot. But thought i might like to put a fridge in the truck! No such luck! Thanks for any input-advise and happy fourth everyone!

  5. #25
    Trucker Geek txviking's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Trucker?
    EX-2 Years
    Age
    38
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked: 62 Times
    Quote Originally Posted by Scarecrow03 View Post
    I too have used silicone for wiring an inverter. It worked just fine, and it created a better (imho) seal than a grommet would.
    The point of a grommet is not primarily to create a seal, but to prevent abrasion of the cable against the metal. These are all cheap parts. I would suggest:

    - Install the rubber grommet
    - If you want a better seal, putting silicone INSIDE the grommet (between the grommet and the wire) isn't gonna hurt it
    - Put in the fuse. The inverter will have an internal one, but extra security doesn't hurt.

    Just my 2.

  6. #26
    Light Load Member
    Member Since
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Buckeye, AZ
    Trucker?
    5 Years
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked: 16 Times
    My Truckers Blog
    3

    Bug inverter

    what is the best brand of inverter ?
    What should i get if i want to run A TV, Fridge, Laptop, And A Xbox Game ?
    Also My Cb Cobra29 LTD Classic

  7. #27
    Medium Load Member telcobilly's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Laying Low
    Trucker?
    5 Years
    Age
    55
    Posts
    605
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked: 152 Times
    Quote Originally Posted by roadkill439342 View Post
    I have never used a "fuse/breaker". The only problems I have had is from salt getting into the cable (if the battery isn't totally covered) and a small nick in the insulation from road debris.
    All Inverters have internal fuses that will blow if there is a short.
    Try replacing 20 30amp spade fuses sometime.
    Not cheap buying 20 "sets" of fuses to get the proper number. LOL
    A fuse in the inverter won't help if the short is before the inverter. The fuse should be at the battery for highest degree of safety. There's a reason a lot of companies have outlawed inverters..

  8. #28
    Road Train Member moosc's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Lincolnton NC
    Trucker?
    19 Years
    Age
    41
    Posts
    2,396
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked: 629 Times
    looks good

  9. #29
    Bobtail Member
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked: 0 Times

    Help needed

    I have a roadpro rppi-2500W that i bought off craiglist from a guy who said he used to drive truck. I need help with either an instruction manual or by someone who really knows this subject. The back of the inverter has 2 pos and 2 neg connections. Do I need to connect to all 4 or can I just use 1 of each? I have 1 pos cable with 2 60amp fuses built into the line and 1 neg cable. I'll only be using it for 1000w cooker and my laptop. Any help would be greaty appreciated Happy New Year

  10. #30
    Road Train Member Pur48Ted's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Trucker?
    17 Years
    Age
    59
    Posts
    3,600
    Thanks
    3,468
    Thanked: 5,946 Times
    Quote Originally Posted by DiggerD View Post
    I have a roadpro rppi-2500W that i bought off craiglist from a guy who said he used to drive truck. I need help with either an instruction manual or by someone who really knows this subject. The back of the inverter has 2 pos and 2 neg connections. Do I need to connect to all 4 or can I just use 1 of each? I have 1 pos cable with 2 60amp fuses built into the line and 1 neg cable. I'll only be using it for 1000w cooker and my laptop. Any help would be greaty appreciated Happy New Year
    The ONLY info I could find out about RoadPro is that it is a U.K. company. You will need to contact them by email and ask them the question.
    http://www.roadpro.co.uk/retail/contact_us.aspx

Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast