Trucking Jobs New Driver Jobs Flatbed Jobs Tanker Jobs Refrigerated Jobs Auto Hauler Jobs
Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 77
  1. #61
    Road Train Member Rollover the Original's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Springfield,MO
    Trucker?
    32 Years
    Age
    59
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    1,768
    Thanked: 2,583 Times
    Quote Originally Posted by Rug_Trucker View Post
    Why would you want to do that?

    Yeah really go get a room for that price!


  2. #62
    Bobtail Member
    Member Since
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Davis, CA
    Trucker?
    WannaBe
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Add fuel to the truck, report the milage and let them try to figure out why, with idling, you are getting better milage than without.

  3. #63
    Road Train Member Powder Joints's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Rosamond, SoCal
    Trucker?
    30 Years
    Age
    59
    Posts
    3,234
    Thanks
    106
    Thanked: 1,647 Times
    My Truckers Blog
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Harley Mike View Post
    I need to find out how to show "no rpm" while idling, so I can sleep in comfort without racking up idle time. My company has a "barbaric" idle policy. I don't idle needlessly, but I do like to sleep in comfort, and it always puts me over the company paramaters. I'm currently in an 06 Columbia with a Det. 60. There used to be a way to bypass from the diagnostic plug by grounding one of the pins, but I've tried that in this truck, and it doesn't work. HELP PLEASE!!, thanks
    green and green/black is used for data, thats all I'm going to say but I would not mess with there equipment it may prevent you from getting your next job, after they find out you've been altering there truck.

    Set your trailer brakes, then set your cruz upto about 900 rpm's, they will find out but you will be able to sleep.

    Get a job with a company that cares about its drivers.

  4. #64
    Road Train Member Rug_Trucker's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Near Nashville TN
    Trucker?
    12 Years
    Age
    57
    Posts
    3,250
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked: 802 Times
    Quote Originally Posted by Flatlander View Post
    Add fuel to the truck, report the milage and let them try to figure out why, with idling, you are getting better milage than without.
    You don't report the mileage. They get it without touching the truck via Qualcom.

  5. #65
    Road Train Member Rug_Trucker's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Near Nashville TN
    Trucker?
    12 Years
    Age
    57
    Posts
    3,250
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked: 802 Times
    One shop supervisor cut a wire on a Freightliner so the driver could idle it. This was to circumvent the auto shut down.

    When I was in Indianola MS the other night a fellow Swift driver told me his Prostar didn't idle. I asked how he survived the desert heat. He told me he has a window piece from the idle air folks, has a 12V 14 inch fan, and puts on a T shirt and soaks it down with a spray bottle of water.

    I looked at him in disbelief and told him there is no frikken way I would do that.

    The DOT book on 392.?? says it is unlawful for you to drive fatigued, and unlawful for them to expect you to drive that way. Can't sleep because you are in a puddle of sweat and your brain is cooking? You need the rest. I will not sleep with my windows open, not even a crack in a truck stop!

    Something like that. It's out in the truck and I am not going to get the book tonight.

    If someone was to pull into the scale house and say "I am fatigued, here is the reason why." And show the messages that they send out some companies tail bones would be in a sling.

  6. #66
    Road Train Member chalupa's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Houston,Texas
    Trucker?
    24 Years
    Posts
    3,113
    Thanks
    1,754
    Thanked: 1,157 Times
    Quote Originally Posted by CondoCruiser View Post
    Tin foil? Bucket?

    For most the brain box is under your bunk. All you have to do is unscrew the antenna.

    I remember when I got out of training with Digby for those that remember them.

    The company told my trainer to drop me off in Atlanta as she lived in Louisiana. WHAT? I live above Chattanooga. We unhooked the Qualcomm and she took me home and then DHed to her house in LA before she plugged it back in.
    All good but when they pull up the map...there's supposed to be a blue line between where u are and where you were. You can hide from it but when it see's again it will show all this. ( no line frm Alanta to LA )

    Also, if you unplug the ant....it can't use GPS to track you ( good ) but it also can't do your logs.....what chu gonna show the bear?? ( bad )

  7. #67
    Light Load Member
    Member Since
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Trucker?
    24 Years
    Posts
    98
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked: 36 Times
    yes each truck manufacturer has a different fuse for monitor, engine must be off when removing or replacing said fuse.

    but beware- tampering with truck electronics stays on file forever

  8. #68
    Road Train Member Jarhed1964's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Trucker?
    2 Years
    Age
    49
    Posts
    2,600
    Thanks
    3,225
    Thanked: 1,263 Times
    Quote Originally Posted by Rug_Trucker View Post
    If someone was to pull into the scale house and say "I am fatigued, here is the reason why." And show the messages that they send out some companies tail bones would be in a sling.

    THAT is the best idea I've heard EVER!!!

  9. #69
    Light Load Member
    Member Since
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Edmonton Alberta
    Trucker?
    EX-48 Years
    Age
    72
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked: 57 Times
    Quote Originally Posted by Lil'Devil View Post
    Just pull the fuse out, then they won't know anything, they might get a bit suspicious though, when they can't truck you
    All they have to do is hook up a computer to the ECM and it will show the idle time.

  10. #70
    Road Train Member Rug_Trucker's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Near Nashville TN
    Trucker?
    12 Years
    Age
    57
    Posts
    3,250
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked: 802 Times
    Quote Originally Posted by Lowbed View Post
    All they have to do is hook up a computer to the ECM and it will show the idle time.
    Some shops don't take the time. If your fuel mileage goes in the toilet they might check.

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •