14.0 detroit turbo boost

Discussion in 'Freightliner Forum' started by Laredo, Jan 20, 2012.

  1. Laredo

    Laredo Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Location:
    Laredo, TX
    Hello All,

    I have an 05 Century with the 14.0 detroit. Recently the truck has lost power and feels like the turbo is not kicking in when accelerating. The truck just feels very sluggish because there is no turbo kicking in.

    The shop hooked it up to the computer but they are saying everying is showing normal with no problems.

    Several friends have mentioned it is a sensor but nobody seems to know the name of it. Any suggestions?

    The turbo was replaced approximately three months ago.

    Thanks.
     
  2. AUSSIE DAVE

    AUSSIE DAVE Road Train Member

    Messages:
    1,032
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Location:
    OZ - Brisbane
    Old post but don't the 14 have a boost sensor on the inlet manifold, my guess is that if this is sending a low boost false reading to the ECM then the ECM will not put extra fuel into the injectors, causing low power
     
  3. Pablo-UA

    Pablo-UA Road Train Member

    Messages:
    7,063
    Thanks Received:
    1,280
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Location:
    Borispol, Ukraine
    things are simple, a lot of ash and carbon deposits in turbo. VNT does not work so freely and stuck sometimes. So it is time to remove turbo from truck and clean VNT with carburator cleaner fluid.

    someone can say, turbo speed sensor and boost sensor are used to check VNT but.... yep, VNT fault code appeares.... when it is fully frozen!
     
  4. truckerbangin

    truckerbangin Light Load Member

    Messages:
    82
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    check your boost sensor on the intake manifold i had that issue with my 12.7 for year and know body could of figure out what was wrong with it untill we test drove the truck with the ddl
     
  5. bijan1

    bijan1 Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Location:
    morrisville
    I had a similar situation. my turbo would work fine up until 9th and 10th gear. I would almost have to red line it for the turbo to kick in. it was giving me VNT not responding code. Freightliner wanted to put a new EGR valve and turbo on. I took it to my mechanic and it was just the air line going to the turbo actuator was rusted at the connection so their was not enough air to operate the actuator. The hose was $13 and an hour labor. For good measure we replaced the actuator as well $293. Sure beat the heck out of $2k turbo $1200 EGR valve and 6 hours of labor.
     
  6. Flatbed102

    Flatbed102 Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    I'm having the same problem Bijan described were did you get parts replacement from? Would like to try this fix before I replace my turbo
     
  7. road traveler

    road traveler Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    get rid of all the egr turbo problems go to uglyfixcharlotte.com
     
  8. bijan1

    bijan1 Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Location:
    morrisville
    Hi flatbed sorry for the late response. Just go to freightliner, ask for the air line coming from the vpod to the turbo actuator. The easy way to see if your actuator is working or not is start the truck, walk over to the side where the turbo is, under the turbo there is a brownish cylinder with an arm that extends up to the turbo. When running this arm should go up and down. Maybe even get a friend to press in the gas and see if this arm is moving or not. If its not moving, you know almost 100% it's the actuator, the hose, or the vpod not sending air to the actuator. Hope it's not too late