3406b "ticking" sound

Discussion in 'Trucks [ Eighteen Wheelers ]' started by Ben S, Nov 29, 2015.

1. Ben S

Ben S Bobtail Member

Nov 29, 2015
    Hi guys, I am new to the fourum so forgive if I'm posing in the wrong section lol. So this is my horrific story. I was in the market for a 10 wheel dump earlier this summer. Problem is here in maine you can't find anything that isn't completely rotted out for less than 25k and at that it will still be pretty old and worn.

Well, out of nowhere I found an 81' L9000 with a CAT 3406A with a ten speed, no rust and a new frame had been put under it along with new rears. The guy I got it from was retiring and moving to Florida so I got it right for $9500.00.

All went well for the first couple months and BOOM coolant in the oil. The sleeves were bad and it needed a rebuild. I don't really know much about big diesels so I figured I would have my local diesel shop give me some advice. They ended up quoting me $8500.00 to do an inframe with aftermarket parts.

This just was not in the cards for this year as I am in the pool installation buisiness and my money making season was at its end. Then out of the woodwork my uncle said he had an old White/Volvo he parked 4 years ago with rust issues that had a recently rebuilt 3406B in it. He said I could have the truck and motor if swapping the motor into my truck would save me money. Things were looking up!

So I headed to the shop and got a quote of $2500.00 to $4000.00 to do the swap. I could definately afford that! So long story short they do the swap (took 2 weeks) and I get a bill for 8k. I am now totally screwed. The shop never called and everytime I would check in no change in price was ever discussed. After some negotiating I got them to drop the price to $6500.00 (lucky me...).