All I Transmit Is A Squeal...

Discussion in 'CB Radio Forum' started by Ken, Jul 2, 2010.

  1. Ken

    Ken <strong>Couch Commander</strong>

    Messages:
    1,752
    Thanks Received:
    11,935
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    I have an older Grant XL. It's been in a box for years and years. I installed into my truck and when I transmit all anyone hears is a loud squeal. It recieves just fine.

    I measured the impedance of the antennas and it was 18 M-ohms. No idea what it should be. It has dual 4' fire sticks on it.

    When I did the SWR test according to the manual I was getting 3 on the unit's meter.

    Where should I look next?
     
  2. stranger

    stranger Road Train Member

    Messages:
    3,296
    Thanks Received:
    4,111
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Location:
    NC
  3. Ken

    Ken <strong>Couch Commander</strong>

    Messages:
    1,752
    Thanks Received:
    11,935
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    And to think I posted it down here to get a serious answer... :biggrin_25524:
     
  4. stranger

    stranger Road Train Member

    Messages:
    3,296
    Thanks Received:
    4,111
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Location:
    NC
    Is it squealing through the cb speaker when you transmit, or can the noise just be heard by other people. It could be your mic.
     
    Ken Thanks this.
  5. Ken

    Ken <strong>Couch Commander</strong>

    Messages:
    1,752
    Thanks Received:
    11,935
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Just squeals on other's radios.. I do get a little whine into my stereo speakers though..

    I did just put an RK mic on it. Maybe I'll put the original back on and see what happens..
     
  6. Scarecrow03

    Scarecrow03 Road Train Member

    Messages:
    3,390
    Thanks Received:
    7,418
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    In Your Head
    It's most likely your flux capacitor's inability to generate the 1.21 jigawatts necessary to activate the antenna's thermoelectric transducer.

    Just swap your flux capacitor for a Mr. Fusion nuclear reactor and try a different frequency ratio within 6.23924 MHz of top dead center and you should be fine.
     
    Ken Thanks this.
  7. Coonass

    Coonass <strong>"Freshy Fresh"</strong>

    Messages:
    1,078
    Thanks Received:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    I would say it's probably the SWR is too high. 3 is on the higher end and it
    would be best to have it down around at least 1.

    The lower your SWRs the better.

    Awhile back my SWRs got up there and I was also transmitting just a squeal when
    I would key up.
     
    Ken Thanks this.
  8. Ken

    Ken <strong>Couch Commander</strong>

    Messages:
    1,752
    Thanks Received:
    11,935
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    I know it's too high.. How do I get it under 2?

    What was your solution?
     
  9. rocknroll nik

    rocknroll nik <strong>High Risk Load Member</strong>

    Messages:
    4,477
    Thanks Received:
    5,735
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    can't read the sign
    To get the antennas calibrated arent you supposed to trim down the antenna or something like that. I can get a half decent set up going but when it comes to the fine tuning I go to a cb shop.
     
  10. Scarecrow03

    Scarecrow03 Road Train Member

    Messages:
    3,390
    Thanks Received:
    7,418
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    In Your Head
    In all seriousness, it is entirely possible you threw off your SWRs by swapping antennas. You might have to get a different coax, especially if you're still using the factory stuff.