Am I that BAD??

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by SOG, Oct 10, 2015.

1. SOG

SOG Bobtail Member

Oct 10, 2015
    Louisiana
    Hey guys, just wanted to throw this out there and see what kind of response I got from some of the OTR guys. About 2 years ago I studied and got my CDL. No school, self taught. I then got a job with an oil filed company driving a long nose 379 pulling a 88,000 lb pump trailer all through OH, PA, WV, and even down into OK and TX from time to time. Otherwise I'd drive anywhere from 300-500 miles at a time to a location where I may sit for a couple of weeks to a month or so and finish up the job and then move on to the next location and stage up and do it all over again. Now that the oilfield has bottomed out, I've been looking for a driving job but it seems no one will touch me. Before this, I drove an old MACK hauling timber in the logging woods for an old man when I was in high school 25 years ago but never had a CDL. He'd just put me behind the wheel when he'd had a little to much to drink and tell me to get her to the lumber mill. I've had no accidents, or tickets. My record is totally clear. I've driven in some of the most sever conditions up through the mountains and even up the side of mountains on skidder trails without so much as even a scratch on the ol' girl. Am I that much of a risk? Is there any advice you guys can give me so I can feed my family? It seems because I haven't been to a traditional driving school it's hurt me. I've got a wife and 3 kids depending on me to get something started and thought my CDL would be the ticket......

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. HorseShoe

HorseShoe Road Train Member

Jun 29, 2015
    Find a refresher school to appease those stupid companies. Then you should be good

4. miss elvee

miss elvee Heavy Load Member

Dec 15, 2012
    Russellville, AR