Amazon Prime and the Fire Tablet. My review.

Discussion in 'Trucking Electronics, Gadgets and Software Forum' started by ethos, Oct 9, 2015.

1. ethos

ethos Road Train Member

Mar 3, 2013
    Houston
    So recently I heard that Amazon Prime was going to let customers download movies and t.v shows for offline viewing. As a trucker I sometimes am forced to park in areas that have no 4G therefore no movie streaming. I am a T-Mobile customer and although I have truly unlimited data, I give up coverage. In the Northwest especially I often have no data at all. As any trucker knows, truck stop Wi-Fi can be a joke so Amazon's announcement was met with much interest from me.

I decided to become an Amazon Prime member and then buy a Fire tablet. I went with the top of the line model 8.9 hdx with a 64gb storage. The large storage was most important because I wanted to download as many shows as possible.

Well let me say this combination is simply awesome. Most of Prime streaming is available for download, 64gb holds plenty of video. Easily enough to get you into another WI-FI hotspot to add more. The tablet is just great, loud speakers, beautiful picture. The interface is simple and quick.

The Amazon site has plenty to offer, easy to use and multiple download options. 1080, 720 and SD. I have used them all and while SD does download faster I haven't noticed much difference between 1080 and 720. Downloading a movie takes quite a while though, about an hour or more actually. To me this is no big deal as I just simply queue all my choices and leave the tablet alone while I'm at the house or in a good Wi-Fi.

Once offline your interface will change, when you hit video it will only bring up your library. I love how quick and easy it is. Simply select what you want and the device will warn you that you only have a certain amount of time to watch it. All of mine so far have had a 30 day limit from the time of initial viewing but I have heard some are only 48 hours.