Are there any ranking of carrier safety scores?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by MosquitoBandito, Sep 27, 2016.

1. MosquitoBandito

MosquitoBandito Bobtail Member

Aug 15, 2016
    Chicago, IL
    I am just starting out, and I am trying to do as much research as possible before selecting a carrier to work for. One of the things I would like to check are safety scores. I see that you can look up an individual carrier's safety score on the FMCSA site, but I don't see anywhere that ranks them on a list. Ideally I would like to get a list of mid to large size carriers that accept drivers with no experience, and find out which ones have the highest trend of safety scores.

Is there a site where I can compare them?

If there isn't, I will make a list of these carriers and look up each individual one, and post the results here.

Thanks for your help!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    There is no high trend of safety.

Workplace injuries or deaths should be ZERO. That is safety. You cannot trend 50 companies who don't wreck or kill people.

MosquitoBandito Thanks this.
  4. MosquitoBandito

MosquitoBandito Bobtail Member

Aug 15, 2016
    Chicago, IL
    I figured that. Truck driving is a dangerous occupation, and companies that accept new drivers with no experience are bound to have worse scores. I just don't want to inadvertently work for one of the "bottom feeders".

5. TripleSix

TripleSix God of Roads

Apr 10, 2009
    Copied in Hell
    If they send recruiters to schools, they are bottom feeders.
    If they will allow rookies to train students, they are bottom feeders.
    If they have lease programs for rookies, they are bottom feeders.

"What is a rookie, Six?"

Bare minimum definition: a driver with less than 12 consecutive months behind the wheel.