Be careful before changing jobs

Discussion in 'Trucking Industry Regulations' started by SteveScott, Dec 4, 2016.

1. SteveScott

SteveScott Road Train Member

Nov 10, 2015
    I'm a California based driver who has been behind the wheel a little less than a year. I started out with Gordon Trucking and was enjoying it until Heartland fully took them over and my miles dropped drastically along with my pay. So last August I started looking for something with a bit more stable pay, and thought I had found it. I found a job posting for a small manufacturing company in the Central Valley that paid a salary of $45,000 a year with full medical/dental/vision. They only have 2 trucks and I would be one of two drivers hauling to and from a warehouse of theirs. Before they hired me, I was told that my job would be to get loaded in California, drive to western Texas, get unloaded and dead head back to California.The pay wasn't outstanding, but as good as my average new driver pay had been with Gordon, and because I didn't have over a year driving, probably the best I could hope for even with a perfect driving record. My rig is a nice new KW T680 with all the bells & whistles including a fridge and TV/DVR.

After nearly 4 months with the company, here is how things aren't always as great as they seem at first.