Beverage to LTL

Discussion in 'LTL and Local Delivery Trucking Forum' started by mud23609, May 18, 2015.

1. mud23609

mud23609 Medium Load Member

Mar 9, 2015
    I am a relatively new driver, got my B last September working for a roll off company which ended up suffering a fire so I made a move to a beverage distributor and upgraded my license to a class A this spring. I am finding that I just don't like the company and now two months in I am looking at the possibility of trying to make a move once again. I end up with far to many days getting helpers pay (six bucks less an hour on average) and I hate merchandising (though the two wheeler work don't bother me much).

With my limited experience will I have much of a chance of being able to make a move to one of the local LTL carriers? Most want more experience than I have, how willing are they to bend on those requirements for a new hire?

Also for those that have went from beverage to LTL, are you happy with your decision?

Shaggy Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. street beater

street beater Road Train Member

Apr 18, 2014
    cold as hell, MN
    Where are you? Why did you get layed off? Give a little more info and people will be better able to help

Shaggy Thanks this.
  4. mud23609

Mar 9, 2015
    I'm not laid off at the moment. Currently working 50 plus hours a week. I was for a short while after the fire at my previous employer for the obvious reasons of losing the shop and half the trucks in the fire.

I am located in the Duluth mn area which has several options for ltl carriers and other local home daily work which is a must for me as I have livestock I need to feed every day.

5. heyns57

heyns57 Road Train Member

Dec 30, 2006
    near Kalamazoo Speedway