Butane Stoves in Trucks

Discussion in 'Trucking Industry Regulations' started by KoolKid, Jul 19, 2012.

1. KoolKid

KoolKid Light Load Member

Jun 15, 2008
    Arkansas
    Okay, I have a question I could not find the answer too. I have been driving for 4 years now and I have always heard that you cannot have a butane stove (1 burner for a pan/skillet) in your truck because we can not have butane/propane in the truck. Does anyone know if we can or not? I have seen the stoves at T/S and the butane but I am thinking that is mainly for travelers and RV's.

Was thinking on getting one as an option besides my microwave. Thanks drivers.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. MNdriver

MNdriver Road Train Member

Feb 24, 2012
    ya mean like this?

http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regu.../fmcsrruletext.aspx?reg=392.51&keyword=butane

4. cpttuttle

cpttuttle Medium Load Member

Oct 20, 2011
    altoona,pa
    been using one for years.

KoolKid Thanks this.
  5. KoolKid

KoolKid Light Load Member

Jun 15, 2008
    Arkansas
    Thanks driver!.... Im going to go grab one tomorrow. Thanks again.

6. Cowpie1

Cowpie1 Road Train Member

Nov 25, 2008
    Kellogg, IA
    I have been using a Coleman propane stove for almost...... 20 years now. Wow how time flies.

KoolKid Thanks this.
  7. One_tooth_wonder

One_tooth_wonder Light Load Member

Aug 7, 2008
    Cleveland, TX
    Yep, we carry little propane torches for thawing congealed product- I keep extra bottles in th cab, and have never had a problem during an inspection, even with an a-hole cop. Also have 100 lb propane tank on the side of the truck to run a heater for the product.

8. nicholas_jordan

nicholas_jordan Medium Load Member

Mar 31, 2012
    temple texas