Carpeting cab floors

Discussion in 'Trucks [ Eighteen Wheelers ]' started by Mustangjoey, Jul 5, 2015.

1. Mustangjoey

Mustangjoey Bobtail Member

Jun 29, 2011
    Rockford, IL
    Got a couple older work trucks that I run for construction in the summer. And they are very loud and the nasty old rubber floors aren't doing it for me anymore. So thinking about getting a roll of carpet for them and cutting to fit. (Couldn't find any exact fit kits for these older trucks)

Question I have, since I've never done this before, what kind of carpet do you guys use? There has to be a certain kind that holds up better than just regular plain indoor carpet right? I just want to cut down on some of the noise and make it look a little nicer inside. Any tips appreciated. Thanks

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. daf105paccar

daf105paccar Road Train Member

Apr 15, 2012
    construction..........................carpet?????
    I think you would be better off if you looked to put some sort off insulation.
    There have been several threads about people putting hardwood floors in the cab>
    They all put insulation under it.
    If you look for those threads...............as i remember it,they even have addresses where to get good deals on that.

Mustangjoey Thanks this.
  4. Mustangjoey

Jun 29, 2011
    Rockford, IL
    Maybe I'll try a search. That would be pretty cool too. Just blow it out and go. Although carpeting is quieter. Have it in my Pete and love it. Decisions decisions....

5. RoosterNB

RoosterNB Light Load Member

Apr 10, 2014
    New Brunswick, Canada