CAT MXS Intake Valve Actuator Help!!!

Discussion in 'Trucks [ Eighteen Wheelers ]' started by Don2WS, May 23, 2010.

  1. Don2WS

    Don2WS Medium Load Member

    Messages:
    301
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Location:
    Sturtevant WI
    Got an 05 KW T600 with an Acert MXS10276 code came up on the cat id said intake actuator oil Pressure Voltage high. A friend of mine suggested takinfg odff the valve covers and checking all connectors on the actuators or replacing the valve actuator pressure sensor, and maybe tyaking it to cat for updates, I wanna have a good idea on where i should start before throwing on parts. Thank you in advance for your help
     
  2. Dutch

    Dutch Light Load Member

    Messages:
    194
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    no need to pull valve covers off. the oil pressure sensor had failed. very common to go out, easy to replace, and has been updated. its on the pass. side of the engine towards the front of the unit, on the valve cover base.
     
  3. Don2WS

    Don2WS Medium Load Member

    Messages:
    301
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Location:
    Sturtevant WI
    thanks Dutch i'm gonna go purchase one . I just have a question (sorry i'm new to these engines used to 3406E and N14) I'm just wondering the other sensor that has an adjusting nut what is its function?
     
  4. Jas

    Jas Medium Load Member

    Messages:
    568
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Location:
    Eastern Sea board, Australia
    You mean the one on the left hand side of the valve cover base that stick out to the side? Its the Intake valve actuation control valve, it controls the oil pressure in the oil rail for the IVAs.
     
  5. Waltz Trucking

    Waltz Trucking Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Location:
    Walton,In
    Does the pressure sensor cause a code 95. Also where is it located.
     
  6. gone fishing

    gone fishing Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Location:
    cheap freightville usa
    i bet its the two wiring harnesses on actuaters 134 for the long one. 128 for the short one after a while they get brittle also check behind yer turbo small set of wires they get brittle at about 350000 elevation sennsor will screw with ya.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 13, 2010
  7. oneshot

    oneshot Medium Load Member

    Messages:
    627
    Thanks Received:
    236
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Location:
    mississippi
    Yes. I had code 95 last week.Put a new sensor in and problem solved.It is located on the passenger side of the engine next to front valve cover.It is shiny with a two wire plug.I think it's two wires.Anyway easy change,couple minutes.
     
    Waltz Trucking Thanks this.
  8. Waltz Trucking

    Waltz Trucking Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Location:
    Walton,In
    Thanks for the info. I kind of thought that but hated to go in blindly thrwing parts at it.
     
  9. Waltz Trucking

    Waltz Trucking Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Location:
    Walton,In
    Sorry I'm new to this forum. Thanks for the info. Just trying to verify my suspicion. I will change it and see what happens.
     
  10. gonzo01

    gonzo01 Light Load Member

    Messages:
    74
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    denver, co
    Well got code 95, replaced sensor, still code 95....
    checked voltages at all 3 wires to sensor;good
    cleaned pins at ecm and coated with dielectric grease
    Still have that anoying lite and pid 129 95
    nxs c15
    what next? Bad new sensor?
    Also anyone tried decreasing pressure on actuator rail in an atempt to twart egr/valve overlap

    thx.
    gonzo