Cement Trucks

Discussion in 'Tanker, Bulk and Dump Trucking Forum' started by Mike2633, Mar 29, 2015.

1. Mike2633

Mike2633 Road Train Member

Jun 14, 2013
    At Home on The West Side
    Hi guys,
    I'm a former beer truck driver who got into the world of broad line food service and while they have similarities they also have differences and I'm kind of getting worn out on the entire 2 wheeler delivery game in general I think it's ran it's course with me.

I saw a local job for a cement truck driver and I'm wondering can any of you guys tell me about the concrete business, it interests me and I'm kind of looking forward to going back to a smaller company. I understand construction has ups and downs in work, this doesn't bother me though as I have a passenger bus endorsement so I can do something with that weather it be drive a limo or limo bus during the slow times or drive charter buses part time during the cement truck companies slow time. At any rate I know concrete is perishable and things like that, but usually concrete compared to other freight isn't really transported extremely far distances.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Lite bug

Lite bug Road Train Member

May 3, 2014
    Columbus Ohio
    I drove mixer truck in the early 90s. From the plant to the job site. Depending on your location it could be year- round. They put retardant in the summer and accelerant in the winter so it cures properly. I liked running the mixer truck, they are always ready when you get there.

Mike2633 Thanks this.
  4. 201

201 Road Train Member

Apr 16, 2014
    high plains colorado