Cobra Electronics 7700 PRO GPS

Discussion in 'Electronic Connection' started by Brian at Cobra, Nov 17, 2009.

  1. backagain

    backagain Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    Taylors, SC
    I bought the Cobra 7700 Pro and it has been working fine. At least until I downloaded the 7700 PRO Database Update DVD that Cobra mailed to me. After I opened the package, I checked the serial number on the DVD and compared it my unit. It was a perfect match. After following the directions and after receiving the "dowload complete" message, I powered my unit back up, only to have the picture of the truck sitting on the roadway beside the street sign on the screen with this message under it: "ERROR, Incorrect map data. Please update map data."
    Has this happened to anyone else? If so, could you let me know?
    Thanks
     
  2. straighttruck

    straighttruck Light Load Member

    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Location:
    peterborough ontario
    As anyone else got this problem
    I am still within the aura 90 day free updates
    I have done the cobra dvd map update now when i connect the 7700 to the computer the gpsm updater will not do anything when scroling mouse over it the message i get is "waiting fo gpsm 7700" Internet settings are correct firewall is set to allow updater to connect to internet
     
  3. Bosco Warden

    Bosco Warden Light Load Member

    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    2,506
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Call the tech support number.

    It sounds like the Home PC or whichever your using to connect to it is not recognizing the 7700. It doesnt sound like an update issue, sounds local - Computer to 7700. Try a different USB port
     
  4. straighttruck

    straighttruck Light Load Member

    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Location:
    peterborough ontario
    Thanks for the tip Bosco Warden tried every usb port still not updating 1st update was done with usb port on front of computer . as i said had no problem before DVD update
     
  5. Brian at Cobra

    Brian at Cobra Light Load Member

    Messages:
    289
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I have not heard of this one before. I do not know what may have happened. It will be necessary to send in your unit for service. Please call Customer Service at 773-889-3087.

    Brian
     
  6. Brian at Cobra

    Brian at Cobra Light Load Member

    Messages:
    289
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Don't know what may have happened, but the SD card should fix it. To order the SD card please call Customer Service at 773-889-3087.

    Brian
     
  7. Brian at Cobra

    Brian at Cobra Light Load Member

    Messages:
    289
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Did you first put the 7700 into USB mode?

    1. Turn off the 7700
    2. Connect the USB
    3. Turn on the 7700
    4. It should say "USB Connected" on the 7700
    Brian
     
  8. straighttruck

    straighttruck Light Load Member

    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Location:
    peterborough ontario
    Yes thats what i am doing when i hover the mouse over gpsm updater it says waiting for 7700
     
  9. jakester15

    jakester15 Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Location:
    Leamington, ON
    Brought mine back to the store. Got the Garmin 465T. Too many problems, too many issues, not enough solutions. I think you guys should have checked out your product more before you released it. I'm VERY disapointed.
     
  10. Brian at Cobra

    Brian at Cobra Light Load Member

    Messages:
    289
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    A. Try a different USB port.

    B. Try re-installing the updater program:

    1. Un-install the existing program
    2. Download a new copy from <HERE>
    3. Install the new copy
    If it still does not work, then maybe there is a problem with your unit. I would recommend sending it to us.

    Brian
     
Draft saved Draft deleted