CPM and revenue debate

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by againstthewind, Oct 19, 2016.

1. againstthewind

againstthewind Road Train Member

Oct 26, 2012
    you hear so much talk about cpm, ive heard many drivers say this, "it doesnt matter how much per mile you get if you dont get any miles", i know this is an owner op thread but whether your an owner op or a company driver wouldnt all that matters be how much revenue you make and how much time you spend making it. maybe ive never worked anywhere that ive gotten "no miles", ive had bad weeks but in a bad week its still better to have a higher cpm, so even as a company driver i would think its not about miles but how much your making per day and how much time you spend making it. you always hear owner ops that talk about revenue not miles, i would think it would be the same even as a company driver. maybe im an idiot an dont buy into the work harder not smarter model that most companies seem to go by. any thought from owner ops.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. gokiddogo

gokiddogo Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2012
    Ontario Canada
    The truck will eat the same per mile for fuel. More miles will only decrease your fixed costs that are based on time. More miles does not always = more money. The gross will be larger, so will the fuel and maintenance bills.

I could tell you I gross $300,000 a year. It would mean nothing if I drove 180,000 miles and at the end of the day I paid the driver + company profit worked out to be marginally more than if I worked for a company and drove my butt off like that. Now consider if I do that high paying north east stuff and gross say $200,000, but only drive 80,000 miles. If I put the same amount of money in my pocket either way, which would you choose? The first guy will have a worn out truck faster than the 2nd guy. Not to mention the 2nd guy will have more free time.