Do I need to follow hourly restrictions if non commercial?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by JoeF2002, Oct 24, 2016.

1. JoeF2002

JoeF2002 Light Load Member

Dec 31, 2015
    Saylorsburg, PA
    Hey gang - odd question perhaps but here it goes. I am a non commercial driver. I drive a show truck with no trailer, no dot, no business, no sponsorship, no commerce.

The rules regarding whether or not I even need to keep a log book are fuzzy. But I do it anyway just in case, and to appease the officers by showing them I am trying my best to be safe. My question is regarding the logs themselves.

As a non commercial driver of a "big rig" that is designed for commercial use (even though I am not using it commercially), am I subject to the hourly restrictions that a commercial driver has? If I researched it right, you can't be behind the wheel for more than 11 hours in a 24 hour period. Correct?

Does that hourly limitation apply to me? Or given my use of the truck (personal only), if I decided I want to drive 24 hours straight with no sleep, is that going to pose a problem with DOT stops?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Moose1958

Moose1958 Road Train Member

Dec 17, 2010
    Williesburg, Virignia
    Please don't take my comments the bad way. You would do better to address these kind of questions to your local FMCSA local office. This way you have a written signed letter to show an enforcement officer if needed. I could be in error but I do not believe the HOS apply.

4. dptrucker

dptrucker Road Train Member

May 14, 2012
    adelanto,ca.