Dodge and 3-4 car trailer NY-CA

Discussion in 'Car Hauler and Auto Carrier Trucking Forum' started by trucko, Aug 30, 2015.

1. trucko

trucko Medium Load Member

Aug 3, 2015
    I am new to car hauling world so may be I am asking well discussed question but what if you get Dodge that has 5th wheel and strong enough engine to haul 3-4 cars. And what if you will be running not local but coast to coast hauling? The fact that you have just 3-4 cars you will be delivering and picking up much quicker than 8-9 cars, instead of two round trips a month you can make 3 round trips or even 2 1/2 trips a month with this vehicle.

anybody tried this? only thing I am worried is how dodge can survive such long haul and long miles. It only makes sense if dodge can easily run 500 000 miles in 5 years without major break downs and technical issues.
    also one more advantage of this is that you can haul cars from the places where 8 car hauler vehicles cannot access, in such cases car hauling prices often goes to 1500 per car.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. lots of character

lots of character Road Train Member

Aug 12, 2015
    Find an old 12 valve, it'll do it no problem

browndawg Thanks this.
  4. trucko

Aug 3, 2015
    please without dark sarcasm

5. lots of character

lots of character Road Train Member

Aug 12, 2015
    That's not sarcasm, that's realism. You want to pay a service tech $100-150 to pull your ecm codes, or fix your own problems.

6. SHO-TYME

SHO-TYME Road Train Member

Apr 20, 2011
    Dahlonega, GA
    Yep, spend $50,000 for a dually that if you run coast to coast, will be worn out in 3-4 years, when you can buy a nice single axle for 1/2 the price that will last twice as long.

If the dually thing was so great, why wouldn't everyone be doing it?

browndawg and Dye Guardian Thank this.
  7. trucko

Aug 3, 2015