Does training count as experience?

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by Claymoresauce, Oct 3, 2015.

1. Claymoresauce

Claymoresauce Bobtail Member

Jan 29, 2015
    Hello. I've been driving now for 6 months and I'm rather unsatisfied with my current position. I want to look for another job, but a lot of them are asking for at least 6 months experience. My question is does the time I spent with my trainer count towards that 6 months? I went through an accredited training school then took a job with my current company. I was driving my first day out with my trainer (he picked me up short on hours and we had to switch in the emergency lane to find a place to stop) so I would think that it should. We team drove for 3 weeks and I tested out. Since then I've been on my own. Will companies count this as a full 6 months experience?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Jerry12

Jerry12 Heavy Load Member

Sep 9, 2014
    Yes, your time clock began when you are hired by a Company... New Hires Orientation time is included.

T_Bone and Claymoresauce Thank this.
  4. HorseShoe

HorseShoe Road Train Member

Jun 29, 2015
    Switching seats in the breakdown lane. Ha. He was serious about using all his hours. At least he didn't use your clock like some of the trainer horror stories we hear

5. Claymoresauce

Jan 29, 2015
    Yeah he was overall pretty professional. Clean truck, showered every day, and didn't break any rules (when it could be avoided lol). I liked him and still talk to him today. Reading some of those trainer horror stories makes me believe I got lucky.

icsheeple, T_Bone and HorseShoe Thank this.
  6. Try and stay for a 1 yr and a day

As well as not hopping from company to company every 6 months.

Ideal is. Put in 2yrs and a day. Then jump ship.

flyingmusician and T_Bone Thank this.
  7. Claymoresauce

Jan 29, 2015