down shifting going though mountains

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by HWheelz, Jul 27, 2015.

1. HWheelz

HWheelz Bobtail Member

Jul 27, 2015
    Hey I'm a driver that's relatively new to the 13 speed. I find myself grinding gears coming out of 8th low to 7th high when climbing inclines. The only way I can get around it is to allow the rpms to drop between 12-1300 and by that point Ivery already headed to the low end end of that gear. Any tips for smoother transitions?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. KeithT1967

KeithT1967 Road Train Member

Nov 12, 2008
    Springfield, Ohio
    experience. as you get used to it it will come naturally.

4. AModelCat

AModelCat Road Train Member

Jul 7, 2015
    Canuckistan
    Try dropping a full gear from 8th low to 7th low.

Lepton1 Thanks this.
  5. Mr.X

Mr.X Heavy Load Member

Oct 31, 2013
    Spokane, WA
    ETA: The red text is about the splitter (little doohooky on side of shifter knob), the other thing (Not red text) is the shifter!

Shifting down; Pre select High (Direct) while your still in the higher gear, let off the throttle a little shift making sure your RPM is slightly below where you think it should be and ease back into the throttle.

Shifting up; , preselect low on the splitter, back off the throttle and ease back into the throttle after you have shifted into the next gear.
    Didnt used to be able to preselect the old trans but doesnt seem to hurt the new ones.

Last edited: Jul 27, 2015
  6. Lepton1

Lepton1 Road Train Member

Nov 23, 2012
    Yukon, OK
    ^^^ THIS