First time O/O. Tax questions

Discussion in 'Trucker Taxes and Truck Financing' started by AshtonMarie81, Apr 9, 2016.

1. AshtonMarie81

AshtonMarie81 Light Load Member

Apr 2, 2016
    I'm buying my own truck soon to run as an O/O for my current employer, as an O/O do i have to file quarterly for my income taxes. Or can i file annually,,, I know that I must now keep all records of anything I buy for my truck since its my job.. fuel, repairs, maintenance ect.. and i already keep records on work clothing and my expenses when I'm not home....

I just dont want to get audit.. for something that because I am new to being an O/O

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. realdesertkickin

realdesertkickin Heavy Load Member

Nov 18, 2013
    Tustoned Arizona
    um, try irs's website, or call em....you want it from the horses mouth

4. truckbuddha

truckbuddha Medium Load Member

Nov 26, 2012
    Salt Lake City, UT
    First you'll need a good accountant. I use ATBS out of Colorado. They are very affordable, easy to reach and talk to and do a fine job.

Yes taxes can be paid either, quarterly or even annually. They try and break it up in quarters so you don't get hit with a huge bill come tax time. But, when I was paying off my trk, I figured my tax base after it was all said and done, was about 12%, maybe even less.