FLD120 Cruise Control

Discussion in 'Freightliner Forum' started by 55_cans, Sep 26, 2012.

  1. 55_cans

    55_cans Light Load Member

    Messages:
    96
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Location:
    Alberta
    Here's some dumb questions, posed cause maybe someone can steer me to the right functioning and electrical component locations.

    The cruise has never worked since buying the truck and I want to fix it.

    Two lever switches mounted on the underdash area just above my left knee. I assume the left most switch is to enable (up) or disable (down) the cruise feature and the rightmost is to resume cruise/increase speed (up) or set cruise/decrease speed (down). Cruise gets suspended if the clutch or brake is pressed.

    Is this how the FLD is setup. I need to get it working so I can control the idle, especially with the up and coming winter.

    Are most of the electrical components accessible under the center panel? i.e. fuses? relays? etc.

    Thank you for any experience/knowledge furnished.
     
  2. 55_cans

    55_cans Light Load Member

    Messages:
    96
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Location:
    Alberta
    I did a search and found some info that says to check the clutch and brake return springs and switches first. Will do.

    Also with the FLD, does it have a light indicator to confirm cruise is engaged?

    Thanks again.
     
  3. 55_cans

    55_cans Light Load Member

    Messages:
    96
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Location:
    Alberta
    The cruise switch that toggles up/down momentarily was not working internally.

    Got a replacement, now to install and here's hoping.
     
  4. freightrunner

    freightrunner Heavy Load Member

    Messages:
    722
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Location:
    Georgia
  5. Pablo-UA

    Pablo-UA Road Train Member

    Messages:
    6,972
    Thanks Received:
    1,272
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Location:
    Borispol, Ukraine
    I'd check pedal switches too
     
    55_cans Thanks this.
  6. 55_cans

    55_cans Light Load Member

    Messages:
    96
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Location:
    Alberta
    1989 - thinking the switch layout/function is common. The momentary toggle switch in mine was broken internally, I changed it but still doesn't work for stop idle up or driving.
     
  7. 55_cans

    55_cans Light Load Member

    Messages:
    96
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Location:
    Alberta
    I got diverted with work, but still have to check this one out. Quick glance, those darn switches must be buried in there. Couldn't see them.
     
  8. red semi

    red semi Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Location:
    new york
    have you checked your parking brake safety switch ? behind air button inside the dash is a pressure switch that has single wire that likes to fall off connector . i added a longer wire to connector and fixed my high idle ,cruise control problem. hope this helps
     
  9. joecitizen

    joecitizen Light Load Member

    Messages:
    211
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    i have a '93 FLD120 with a non-functioning cruise control. Have you had a chance to solve your issue? I too can not find a wiring schematic to help me trace down the wiring and sensors.