From local to OTR. What a dilemma.

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by TheyCallMeDave, Oct 24, 2016.

1. TheyCallMeDave

TheyCallMeDave Heavy Load Member

Dec 17, 2014
    Tejas
    So brief backstory, I'm 28 married with a 3 month old (our first child). I graduated trucking driving school back in may, immediately started running dump truck and straight truck flatbed for a local landscape company. Did that for 2 months before it got slow and driving was sparse, moved on to a construction company with 9 dump trucks and 7 drivers. Driving is somewhat steady but ridiculously monotonous and sometimes there is no driving at all.

My original plan was to eventually do local LTL work or some type of tanker work however, due to my wife being pregnant while in school I chose to stay local which is what got me into the dump truck scene. I've realized lately that I'll never be anything more than a dump truck driver with low pay if I don't make a change and get back on track with my original goal. My question is: with my school, and my 5 months experience driving dump trucks local should I just suck it up and go OTR for a good 6 months then come back local and get a tractor trailer job in my area? Or stick it out with the dump truck gig and hope that I find a local tractor trailer job at some point? I feel that everyday I'm in that dump truck I'm losing out on experience I could be getting because I'm not hauling a trailer. If I were to go OTR I'd be very interested in flat bed work because I really enjoyed the flatbed work I did while working at the landscape company.