Getting my Own Authority.

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Mysen1, Aug 4, 2015.

1. Mysen1

Mysen1 Bobtail Member

Jun 27, 2014
    I am a rookie,new to the trucking industry.One year accident,incident free Company driver, OTR experience in a few months.Been doing reefer,midwest,based out of the DFW area in Texas.Three-Four weeks out with Three-Four days off.Averaging 14000 miles/month.In the hope of making a few more $,and spending
    Some more time at home(and deciding myself when that would be) the plan was to apply to Landstar.
    With all the monthly fees going to Landstar and the E-Logs,I am leaning more and more towards getting my own company and authority.

If someone who is allready there would have time and effort to chime in with answers and comments that would be greatly appreciated.

-Is this doable for me?I consider myself hard working.Enjoy the driving and ok+ with record keeping,and paperwork.But,fairly "new" to the business..Don't mind being out 3-4 weeks,but wouldn't mind taking a week off either.Realize that in the startup fase it's gonna be work,work,work.
    -Joining getloaded.com (or other loadbord),as a total new driver there,will someone there give me any loads?How will a broker thrust me with the first few loads?Shortly,how is the demand /supply situation for freight/drivers at the loadboards.The fear being,sitting idle with no loads coming my way.
    -Buying a tractor,but I guess bobtailing the loadboards doesn't get you any money.
    So what's best to get?A dry van,or a reefer?Is there any age limit I should stay away from?Is renting/leasing a trailer in the startup phase a option to consider? (Prices?)
    -Do reefer loads pay better?
    -Is there so much paperwork that a mobile printer/fax machine is something to consider?
    -Factoring company recommendations,with % fee?
    -Average $/mile to the truck for loaded miles anyone?
    How much are you being paid?