GPS for Truckers

Discussion in 'Electronic Connection' started by Beanfacekilla, Sep 20, 2006.

  1. Beanfacekilla

    Beanfacekilla Light Load Member

    Messages:
    79
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    I was thinking of getting GPS. I heard it routes around construction and it will tell you when to turn and stuff. I also heard it will route you around low clearances and stuff. Unfortunately, the people at best buy could not tell me if it would do this, and the gps units in the store did not work because they couldn't aquire a signal. They are like $500-$800 and up. Can anyone shed some light on this subject for me?:smt100
     
  2. BearGator56

    BearGator56 <strong>"The G stands for GOOD!"</strong>

    Messages:
    280
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    It will only route you around construction if you have one of a few things:

    -Streets and Trips (MS) will show the construction on the route, but you will need an internet connection so it can update. You will have to plan your own way around it, unless it has come up with a new feature I don't know about.

    -XM NavTraffic: I have this with a Pioneer AVIC-Z1 in-dash unit. It definitely works, and will show you whether there are slowdowns, construction, or accidents coming up on your route. It traffic is less than 20 mph flow, it will ask if you want to re-route, and provide an alternate route.

    The re-route works OK, but with a big truck, sometimes it's just better to stay on the main road unless traffic is really tore up. Sometimes it will be behind about 20 mins. Today there was a huge snarl up on I-285/I-75 and they had to bring in the LifeFlight. I was able to jump off the route I was on, and get on I-85. It re-routed me as soon as it recognized I changed roads.

    -Sirius: Sirius is just now offering units with NavTraffic like XM. Should work the same.
     
  3. Burky

    Burky Road Train Member

    Messages:
    1,913
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Location:
    Southwestern Michigan (Lawrence)
    Like anything else, they only as capable as what they have been programmed to do. Unless it is hooked into a constantly updated source, they are not going to be able to do much in routing you around construction. (And in Chicago, the only route around the construction is through the air!) There are some regular computer programs that are more truck specific, but the basic Garmin and Tom-Tom type units are not biased towards a truck.

    My father is a nurse, doing hospice care in our area. He has a TomTom unit in his car, and it will route you directly from one address to another. So for finding a place, they are a great unit. But you can't expect it to know the height of your vehicle. Use it within it's limits, and they can be a great piece of help. But don;t rely on them to replace the things that you should be doing as a driver.

    Unless you want to put a PC, a good quality wireless hookup, and a high dollar mapping program into the truck, they are a reasonable substitute for a road map, but not a lot more. My 02.

    (and when the price drops into the 3-500 dollar range, then I'll probably get one too)
     
  4. brinkj23

    brinkj23 <strong>"Asphalt Cowboy"</strong>

    Messages:
    1,166
    Thanks Received:
    316
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I dont see spending 500 to 1000 dollars on just a gps system. When you could just buy a laptop for 600, then get microsoft streets an trips with gps for 100. Then you have a computer and not just a gps. Now with microsoft it doesnt show low clearances, truck routes and what not. But if you check the microsoft route against your trucker atlas should never have a problem. I ran this way for 6 months and never once ran into a low clearance, or a road I shouldnt be on.
     
  5. Burky

    Burky Road Train Member

    Messages:
    1,913
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Location:
    Southwestern Michigan (Lawrence)
    Actually, my company has proper routes to almost all of our customers in the Qualcomm system, and I just type in a six letter code for any customer and the info pops up. Went to a new delivery this morning, drove right in based on that. In the rare case that they don't have directions, I send good ones to my dispatcher and he puts them into the system. Ocasionally I handle brand new customers and that's what we do.

    And I had map reading as part of social studies back in about 8th grade anyhow....
     
  6. Beanfacekilla

    Beanfacekilla Light Load Member

    Messages:
    79
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    Thanx guys. I have a laptop. How does the microsoft program have gps??? On any laptop??? Is there a card to plug into your cpu??? Explain this to me like I am a six-year old.
     
  7. Beanfacekilla

    Beanfacekilla Light Load Member

    Messages:
    79
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    Nevermind. I just looked on the website and found all the info I need about ms streets and trips. Thanx for recommending it very much. :wave:
    I am gonna get that program just as soon as I get a chance.
     
  8. brinkj23

    brinkj23 <strong>"Asphalt Cowboy"</strong>

    Messages:
    1,166
    Thanks Received:
    316
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Yeh I loved the streets an trips program. It comes with an update every year, just the programs 50 bucks I think. Thing I love is the gps is free. I never got lost with this program, and it took a lot of stress off of me. Thing I like is it shows you the addresses, so you know what side of the street to be lookin on. You can zoom way in and out, shows you turn by turn.
     
  9. toolfan2k4

    toolfan2k4 Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Chances are if you were six you would know more then us!:laughing8:
     
  10. BearGator56

    BearGator56 <strong>"The G stands for GOOD!"</strong>

    Messages:
    280
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    The unit I have is DVD, CD, XM/Sirius ready, navigation, and tv-tuner ready. Pretty nice set up. It also sits in-dash, so I don't have to try and mount my laptop somewhere, worry about it being in my line of sight, or fumble around to mess with it. My friend uses his laptop with a GPS set-up. He used my truck for a week and loved my set-up.

    I also have my laptop with internet card, but haven't used it for directions yet.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted