High Desert Services - Cheyenne WY (Oilfield)

Discussion in 'Discuss Your Favorite Trucking Company Here' started by Hanzerik, Jun 23, 2011.

1. Hanzerik

Hanzerik Light Load Member

Thanks Received:
    Well, it looks like I'm hired on with these folks, so I thought I would start a thread to talk about my experience with them.

Just a little about my trucking experience so far. Drove tractor trailers (flatbed/lowboy) in the Military for a few years as part of a job requirement, not my AFSC/MOS. I just retired from the Military after 22.5 years and am on Terminal Leave and needed a new career so I figured why not trucking. Went to Sage Technical Services truck driving school to brush up on driving, and learning how things operate in the civilian world. Plus I needed time in a manual transmission tractor, since all we drove were automatics. I graduated Sage last Monday, had submitted a few applications while still in school with some local Oilfield companies, and this is the first one to get me in a truck.

Got a call yesterday and was asked if I could ride along with one of their drivers today to learn how to operate the new tanker trailers they just received. So I spent the day riding along and learning the loading and unloading procedures. We filled up at a water wellhead, then hauled the water to a huge frac water storage tank and unloaded it. There are three of these tanks; 2 big and a smaller one, and they are almost filled. After they are done there are 25 Frac tank trailers that need to be filled. I think I counted four other tankers, besides our two, filling the tanks.

I would say 90% of the driving today was on gravel/dirt county and leased roads. Road conditions were nice, hilly, but very dusty. The location was in Colorado. Seems like pretty easy work but not your typical drop/hook type work; you have to get out and hook up hoses and open/close valves, etc, but it is not overly strenuous.

DocRox and 1catfish Thank this.
  2. mgt1085