Hoping for a scrap of advice from the Vets out there ...

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by WonderlandSC, Jul 3, 2015.

Are recruiters trustworthy?

1. They're usually trustworthy.

1 vote(s)
    3.2%
  2. Never trust a recruiter. Liars. They're all liars!

14 vote(s)
    45.2%
  3. Recruiters have guidelines. Yes, they are trustworthy!

1 vote(s)
    3.2%
  4. Recruiters are unreliable at times.

15 vote(s)
    48.4%
  1. WonderlandSC

WonderlandSC Bobtail Member

Jul 2, 2015
    This thread is more about whether a "newbie" should trust what recruiters tell them over the phone.

I am single, 40, with no kids. I have a very small office job. I'm not looking to become rich. I am also aware of the hardships of OTR, but I want this! I'm even looking forward to the solitude. This is what I want to do for a living. That said, I've heard how strict companies are b/c they have to be. I have (3) seatbelt violations in 5-years. The most recent was in 2015. They don't appear on my MVR, but I can't hide them. I'm too scared they'll find out. Seatbelts are a huge deal for CDL holders. I also have one 2011 accident, where a kid ran a red light and hit me and (1) moving violation from 2006 when I tried to save a plate of Chinese food and rolled through a stop sign.

Be honest. Be brutal. How strict are companies? The recruiter from Prime said that none of those things should be a problem, but I'm weary. I know I have to be honest. That's all I know for sure. Thank you for your time.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. poppapump1332

poppapump1332 Road Train Member

Jan 2, 2010
    birdsboro,pa
    Most companies only go back 3 years.

WonderlandSC Thanks this.
  4. HalpinUout

HalpinUout Road Train Member

Oct 2, 2011
    I wouldn't trust a recruiter as far as I could throw them...