How do I find which lanes are hot at the moment?

Discussion in 'Freight Broker Forum' started by dlstruck, Sep 23, 2016.

1. dlstruck

dlstruck Medium Load Member

Sep 8, 2016
    I'm a new O/O, just started 5 months ago. I've been doing regional and/or local work in the PNW running mostly OR, WA, and ID while I test out my truck and saved up some more reserves. I finally found a load to the east coast that was over $2/mile so I'll be heading out there next week.

I learned all of the best paying lanes in the PNW but know nothing about the rest of the US. When I was a company driver getting paid a %, the east coast always seemed to have better paying loads. Are there any tips or tricks you guys can give me to research lanes? Or should I just start searching manually? I use a basic $30 ITS account to find loads, do they have other tools that can help with this? They always try to sell me add-ons but I've always thought they were useless.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. scottlav46

scottlav46 Road Train Member

Jun 18, 2015
    Escanaba, MI
    i use a load board called 123loadboard.com...27 bucks a month and they have as a standard feature a lane average that serves pretty well in negotiation you should check it out especially since you are lookin at new lanes. I think there's a trial period of a couple weeks or something. I'll throw up a screen shot here in a sec so you know what I mean.

dlstruck and TruckDrivingtn Thank this.
  4. scottlav46

scottlav46 Road Train Member

Jun 18, 2015
    Escanaba, MI
    image.png This is a dry van/reefer load, the rate is the average for that lane over the last 90 days. Pretty Crummy rate you're probly better off stringing some loads together to get home lol anyways hope this helps

brian991219 and dlstruck Thank this.
  5. Oscar the KW

Oscar the KW Going Tarpless

May 19, 2011