I would like to know more about landstar

Discussion in 'Landstar' started by Misterpreston, Apr 10, 2016.

1. Misterpreston

Misterpreston Light Load Member

Mar 24, 2016
    I bought my first truck a few months ago from a private seller and am currently with dart. I haven't been getting the miles and have been looking for companies that are percentage based because guys keep saying that's where the money is. I have a year and a half experience. This is my first time being and o/o. I wanted to see if there is good money with landstar on the van side. What are you averaging a week after expenses and do you like working for them thank you.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. sidrambill

sidrambill Light Load Member

Feb 5, 2015
    lakeland, fl.
    I've yet to meet an unhappy LS driver. When I ask "How long you been at LS?" the usual answer is "Not long enough, wished I'd come here years ago." Bear in mind I've been asking for two years.

4. sawmill

sawmill Road Train Member

May 29, 2015
    Evanston, WY
    Good start on looking for percentage over miles. It's all about percentage of gross and managing your costs at LS. I've had crap weeks and done 3K miles and had weeks where I only ran 1500 miles and made a killing. Couldn't begin to tell you about van stuff, I pull a step with ramps.

You should also consider that no two guys will operate the same. You can have two guys here doing the same thing and one will make it and one won't. There is a LOT of stuff that nobody will tell you, they sort of expect you to figure it out on your own.

FLYMIKEXL Thanks this.
  5. strollinruss

strollinruss Road Train Member

Jun 5, 2012
    Montgomery, TX
    It's slow everywhere right now, so keep that in mind.

FLYMIKEXL Thanks this.
  6. FLYMIKEXL

FLYMIKEXL Medium Load Member