Intermodel questions

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Paul328, May 21, 2016.

1. Paul328

Paul328 Bobtail Member

Apr 2, 2016
    Hello,

I have been reading several threads about Intermodel and the advantages and disadvantages, they seem to vary by the persons experience but have some common themes.

I quickly realized you have to REALLY pay attention to your pre-trip, not that I always wouldn't, but getting a new unit each time would present a bunch of possible problems.

My questions are:
    Can you purchase your own chassis/running gear to two a intermodel shipping container. If you could you would be able to have a better idea of the condition and less surprises I would think.

Are there enough available contracts to keep someone going as an owner operator?

I don't mind being out for days/weeks, are there a decent number of long distance loads out there?

Any other advice would be appreciated. I am just getting into the industry but have always liked to have goals both long and short term. It seems on the surface that intermodel would be a cheaper way to get into being an O/O.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. JJKid

JJKid Medium Load Member

Aug 17, 2014
    Chicago, IL
    Hey paul, you should probably post this in the intermodal truck forum.. as many people can answer this question.

http://www.thetruckersreport.com/truckingindustryforum/forums/intermodal-trucking-forum.405/