Just bought a 1996 international 4900 DT466 -HELP-

Discussion in 'International Forum' started by Neo_Ocelot, Jul 30, 2016.

1. Neo_Ocelot

Neo_Ocelot Bobtail Member

Jul 30, 2016
    Greetings,

I have purchased a 1996 international 4900 DT466 w/Automatic transmission 100,000mi paid 5k

This is my first commercial vehicle though I have always worked on my own cars and trucks. I have been driving it for a few months now getting a feel for it, and I have more questions than I can probably remember to mention here.

When i got it the front driver leaf spring was completely severed, got a replacement at a salvage and I was on the road. it has a reefer box but no reefer unit.

I'm about to make my first long trip soon an would like to do some routine maintenance.
    A close look at my transmission case and I see I'm leaking fluid out my rear seal.
    Oil looks used and I'm sure needs a change and filter.

I cant find a service manual for this thing anywhere.
    1. What weight of motor oil and how much? (moving to Minnesota)
    2. What kind of tyranny fluid and how much?
    3. When and how often should I bleed water from brake lines and fuel?
    4. should I change rear Differential fluid?
    5. how do I find out what transmission I have and where do I get this seal? (how hard is it to do)
    6. for jacking up the truck will a beefy bottle jack do? (20ton)
    7. If i wanted to check my brakes, Is a impact gun required or can i get by with a breaker bar?
    Any other thoughts or comments?

Attached Files:

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Big Don

Big Don "Old Fart"

Sep 8, 2007
    Utah's DIXIE!
    Shoot, I just Googled "Service Manual for 1996 international 4900 DT466 w/Automatic transmission," and got a whole bunch of hits.

Mudguppy Thanks this.
  4. Heavyd

Heavyd Road Train Member

Feb 4, 2009
    1- 15W40 oil for diesel engines. usually around 26 litres.