Landstar home time

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Jdm5jdm5, Oct 22, 2016.

1. Jdm5jdm5

Jdm5jdm5 Light Load Member

Apr 13, 2016
    I'm a company driver right now and thought about becoming an owner operator. Can you choose how long your home time is with landstar? Do they put a limit on how long you can be home? Can you do 2 weeks home two weeks out, for example?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Brandt

Brandt Road Train Member

Sep 17, 2012
    Back when I worked for LS they would not like their trailers to sit more then 2 weeks without a load. They would call and ask if I was going to use the trailer or not. If not they would send someone to come get it. So if you want more then two weeks off they may call. If your pulling your own trailer you can sit all you want at home. You can sit all you want at home pulling their trailer. You just have to give it up after two weeks and they would have to find you another one when every want to leave again.

Jdm5jdm5 Thanks this.
  4. miszel

miszel Light Load Member

Aug 17, 2016
    Im with landstar and they never called me about my home time. And i stay home a lot some times up to two months

Jdm5jdm5 Thanks this.
  5. Ridgeline

Ridgeline Road Train Member

Dec 18, 2011
    Michigan
    Wow

Get this ...

Landstar does not have home time.

You might as well start getting the verbege right and the company driver crap out of your head.

As an owner leased to ls, you make your own schedule as long as you pay the fees every week, you can take six months off.

I recommend one thing, use their trailer for a bit and save for your own, get it and increase your percentage of the gross.

6. againstthewind

againstthewind Road Train Member

Oct 26, 2012