live web tracking

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by dannythetrucker, Jul 4, 2015.

1. dannythetrucker

dannythetrucker Road Train Member

May 26, 2011
    everywhere, man
    This is something I've talked about on here a few times. I always wanted to have a map on my website which shows my location in near real-time. It's for my customers to see where their load is at with a click, and if they're going to my website it gives me a chance to make an impression as well. If anyone has an interest in it, it was actually fairly easy to do utilizing an android app called PublicBadge. They have instructions and a short embed code right on their website. I also am using hostgator for hosting, and they have a plugin of Weebly which made designing the website a snap. I've never built a website before and had this done in less than a day.

I'm sure there will be some who would not like people to see where they are 24/7, I can understand that. But I'm hopeful the positives outweigh the negatives with it. And I can also shut the app off on my phone if I want to disable it for some reason.

icsheeple, tsavory, ReeferOhio and 5 others Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Dreamboat

Dreamboat Light Load Member

Jun 15, 2015
    JopMO
    I like it. Might have to do that so my grandson can track me. I already have a website.

dannythetrucker Thanks this.
  4. NavigatorWife

NavigatorWife Road Train Member

Apr 30, 2012
    Cental West, AL
    The updating may take a lot of data on phone. I can keep up with hubby most generally with Life 360, but there are times that it is not in sync with where he really is.

Good luck with the program though if you are hauling freight for others. I believe a lot of companies have a similar program to keep up with their trucks and freight, but it wouldn't be public domain.

5. dannythetrucker

May 26, 2011
    everywhere, man