Logbook Fines

Discussion in 'Trucking Industry Regulations' started by wfbray, May 13, 2009.

  1. wfbray

    wfbray Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Location:
    Harrison City, PA
    I was lucky to recieve a ticket for not having my log up to date from a local cop in PA. I was wondering what the average Ticket cost for log violations? Mine was $584.50.
     
  2. psanderson

    psanderson Road Train Member

    Messages:
    1,030
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Moline, Illinois
    Different states charge different amounts. The federal fine, or at least this was the amount before I retired, was $$800.00

    From a retired federal DOT official
     
  3. Coonass

    Coonass "Freshy Fresh"

    Messages:
    1,078
    Thanks Received:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    I got a ticket in Texas for not having my log book up to date and that fine turned
    out to be $180.00.

    $500 some what dollars is pretty steep in my book.
     
  4. slick501

    slick501 Light Load Member

    Messages:
    114
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    stonewall, la
    ok, I am not driving yet, but I did crew helicopters for 4 years when I was younger. Just left the RN nursing after 13 years where if you did not document it, it did not happen. Seems log book entries 'should' be as much a priority as oxygen?
     
  5. slick501

    slick501 Light Load Member

    Messages:
    114
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    stonewall, la
    coonass, I currently live just outside,south of Shreveport. Will be going th San Antonio very soon with RoadMsaters for CDL training. Looking seriously at USA. They have a terminal here, though home time is of little importance right now.
     
  6. relic1228

    relic1228 Light Load Member

    Messages:
    149
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Location:
    Springfield, MA
    Depending on where you get caught. You have the initial fine, then add court costs, and an assortment of donations. Victims fund, head injury rehab fund, or what ever else they can think of. Look closely at your citation, it should be broken down.
     
  7. wfbray

    wfbray Bobtail Member

    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Location:
    Harrison City, PA
    Yea the fine was $500.00 the $84.50 was the donations to everything else
     
  8. dieselbear

    dieselbear Road Train Member

    Messages:
    1,796
    Thanks Received:
    2,783
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    it varies in my state for log book not current, 11 hour and 14 hour violation, false log and failing to record duty status/previous 7 days of log book. Lowest fine is $80 the highest is $1000.00