Looking for Feed Back about Using Load Board Only..

Discussion in 'Freight Broker Forum' started by MTandReady, Jun 30, 2015.

1. MTandReady

MTandReady Bobtail Member

Jun 30, 2015
    A little about myself. I'm a manager at a transportation company. Been managing and working with drivers from a company stand point (meaning company drivers) for about 10 years. Make pretty good money, so wanting to become a broker is not solely about the money. It's more about having something that you can say I created this, it's mine and I make a little bit as well. Plus I know from being in the industry is that 9 times out of 10 the drivers just want to be respected and treated fairly.

With that said..Looking to become a broker and just working off of the load board only. I realize the idea situation would be you have shipper that you receiver your loads from directly and get as much freight as you can with as many IC as you can tolerate and go from there and cut out middle man brokers. That's what I would do if I wanted to quit my job and go full time. I wouldn't have time to manage a commitment from a shipper giving me 20 loads a week and work full time job.

So overall my question is, after getting all setup with own brokerage authority, insurance, LLC cost, surety bond and everything, in your overall opinion do you think it's slightly profitable even if only $300-$400 a month to to just strictly work off of load boards? Would it even be worth it? If I were to approach it from this angle what am I not considering? Sure,,,, lower rates on load boards but besides that.... I guess I'm thinking I can work with a couple guys and give them 85% or 90% sometimes... Where could I go wrong with just keeping it simple..

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. marineman227

marineman227 Dock Waterer

Jan 26, 2008
    Neenah, WI