Making my own APU

Discussion in 'Trucks [ Eighteen Wheelers ]' started by Tuckster, Jan 21, 2010.

  1. MeatHead

    MeatHead Medium Load Member

    Messages:
    327
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    The reason you can't have a gravity feed is the fear of having a fuel line leak. One of the biggest drawbacks to doing your own system is that the unit will be running all the time. Rigmaster and others monitor the temperature and battery voltage and only turn on when the batteries need charging or the temp goes above or below a certain point. You can buy control modules to do this but will cost you more.

    You can buy a rooftop unit that supplies A/C and heat from Carrier. Easy to install also.

    I have a Rigmaster, rooftop Carrier A/C unit and an Espar D2. Gives me many options for heating and cooling but it cost about $8k for the whole setup.

    And don't be fooled by advertising how everyone just sips fuel at point this and point that. You run your A/C and that generator will be humping it's brains out.
     
  2. Tuckster

    Tuckster Light Load Member

    Messages:
    223
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Location:
    Hanover, Va
    I bought a cheap generac (gas) but want to expand to a diesel unit with a remote start. I would like to hook it to my existing fuel tanks and it will have to push an AC unit. I'm considering a rooftop AC model but heard where some drivers have mounted window AC units on the sleper. Not sure how that would work but ... Any new ideas ????
     
  3. The Challenger

    The Challenger Kinghunter

    Messages:
    7,126
    Thanks Received:
    3,346
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Location:
    East Central FL
    Whats your make and model of your truck tuckster? You can get a CARB approved 11kw Cummins generator for 5700.00 including taxes. A Onan one will go for 7800 including taxes.

    KH
     
  4. Elvenhome21

    Elvenhome21 Heavy Load Member

    Messages:
    735
    Thanks Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sheboygan, WI


    If you cut the hole in the back of the sleep it wouldnt look much different then a factory add-on if done right
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2010
  5. mleibelt

    mleibelt Light Load Member

    Messages:
    62
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Location:
    Friendship, WI
    I went the home made way...I use a 2000w Honda inverter generator...I have a floor model A/C unit...It is 8000BTU and draws 900watts max, It has one hose thats is the exhaust for heat and water...I used a Idle-Air window adapter closed the hole with a piece a sheet metal to fit the exhaust tube...I chain the gen to the rear duck when in use...Carry it in a side box when not in use...The Gen. only revs up when the compressor starts and that is for a few seconds...If uses about a gallon of gas a night....I am happy with the setup...Takes less than 5 minutes to set up....And only have about $1300 in it....
     
  6. MeatHead

    MeatHead Medium Load Member

    Messages:
    327
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Just cut a hole in the back like I did.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Travelinman

    Travelinman Medium Load Member

    Messages:
    395
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Not long ago i saw a guy who did just that. He had a generator on the catwalk which supplied all the power he needed. Its good knowlegde to have for sure!

    In fact, a few days ago i saw an econoline van with a household AC unit in the back window. Below it he/she had a generator bolted down next to the bumper.
     
  8. Travelinman

    Travelinman Medium Load Member

    Messages:
    395
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    WoW!!! Thats high speed! :biggrin_25514:
     
  9. Tuckster

    Tuckster Light Load Member

    Messages:
    223
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Location:
    Hanover, Va
    If this is true, I will spend the xtra $$ for the Honda. My Generac burns 4 gallons (gas) a night and thats the main reason I want to switch to Deisel. The tank holds 4 gallons so I'm filling it up daily when used all night. I would like the remote start but not a deal killer.


     
  10. lastgoodusername

    lastgoodusername Medium Load Member

    Messages:
    373
    Thanks Received:
    112
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    gas gens weigh less
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2010
Draft saved Draft deleted