My Analysis of Tyson Foods (2014)

Discussion in 'Tyson' started by BamaDad, Nov 14, 2014.

1. BamaDad

BamaDad Bobtail Member

Nov 14, 2014
    I have been driving for Tyson Foods for roughly 2 months now. Here is a clear and honest account of my experiences to this point with this particular company:

Pros:

- Decent hotel during orientation. Single bunk. You get a voucher in the morning for a breakfast buffet at some Iron Skillet-like restaurant next to the hotel.

- Orientation is decent. The last day they take you to Western Sizzlin for lunch. Post-orientation isn't as disorganized and chaotic as with other companies I've been with.

- They plan you before your current load drops, so you know where you're going.

- Decent miles. They usually keep you moving when you have time. I haven't done below 2300 since I've been here (with a full 14).

- Pickups are about 98% drop and hook.

Cons:

- Tyson Foods does NOT PAY DETENTION. AT ALL. No matter HOW long you sit. Now, I personally was blatantly lied to about this by one of their recruiters to get me here. I called him concerned about this and he assured me that none of his drivers sit for longer than 2 hours. Now I figured since this was Tyson and a private fleet that this may actually be possible. Unfortunately, even the Orientation guy told me that this was complete BS.

- You WILL sit. Do NOT listen to the recruiter. Some of their customers have taken upwards of 6 hours to get me unloaded. That was completely free. You only get layover after 24 hours and that's only $85. Be esepcially wary of Walmarts. They just give your time away for free, and you sit just as long as drivers from other companies that actually get detention pay.

- They only have a about a handful of longtime drivers here. This is coming from what an 8 year driver told me. He is considered a senior driver here.