My Experience at Pride Transport

Discussion in 'Motor Carrier Questions - The Inside Scoop' started by Keith7, Feb 8, 2016.

1. Keith7

Keith7 Bobtail Member

Jan 2, 2016
    Antonito, CO
    I decided to skip the mega-carriers and go straight to a decent company out of CDL school. That was Pride Transport in Salt Lake City.

The orientation and training were uneventful. My experience was pretty much the same as in this post, so I won't waste any time.

One thing that nobody mentioned was the six-month contract I signed before I started training. If I wanted to leave within 6 months of employment, I would have to pay $5000 for the cost of the training. I didn't like that, but I was already in SLC and didn't plan on quitting, so I signed it. I just thought it was a little shifty that nobody told me about it until I had finished orientation and they laid it in front of me.

Also, having talked to other drivers there, nobody had anything bad to say about the company. I think that's rare. Four out of the nine people in my orientation were rehires. Everyone said I made a good decision by starting at Pride.

Also, I learned that the notorious driver-facing cameras only have 10 seconds of memory and act as a black box in case of an accident. That doesn't bother me at all: I would prefer to be able to prove that I have my eyes on the road. I wish they had front-facing dash cams too. Most drivers still didn't like them though and put their visor down to block it.

Training for total newbies is 100 hours or more of driving with a trainer in the passenger seat (Phase 1), then 300 hours or more of team driving with the trainer (Phase 2). Steve the recruiter said that phase 1 usually lasts a month, and phase 2 usually lasts 2 months. But it's up to the trainer's discretion when you leave phase 1 and up to the safety dept's discretion when you graduate from phase 2 (via a road test).