My First Post...As Green as a Grasshopper

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by PugVan, Sep 24, 2016.

1. PugVan

PugVan Bobtail Member

Sep 24, 2016
    I don't like my current job so thought I would become a delivery driver, but don't want to driver 18 wheeler and don't want to just drive locally making dozens of stops a day...thinking more along the lines of sprinter van. FYI: I have no experience or connections in the industry and don't have a CDL currently. I am willing to move anywhere in the U.S. and start on 1 week's notice and want to work as much as possible to make as much as possible (even 35K year would be an improvement-35K after all deductions except taxes) Here are some starter questions...

1. Doesn't it make more sense to study the CDL book yourself and get your learner's permit rather than pay a trucking school a bunch of money to put you through a 160 hour program?
    2. Is it unreasonable to think I can find some random driver with a sprinter van who I can pay to train me and let me use his van for the test?
    3. Can I expect to get hired by a company with no experience? What if I buy my own van, would that help a lot?
    4. How much can I expect to make per year starting out?
    5. Do sprinter vans typically drive long distances like a semi or make many small stops?
    6. Can I expect to be driving at all hours with no consistent sleep schedule?
    7. Would it be a better idea to be an independent driver rather than get hired on with a company?
    8. If I take a job with a company can I work more hours if I want or do they tell me what I can work?
    9. Is it an advantage to be willing to move anywhere?

any help would be appreciated. I'm sure these questions are like asking a football player how many yards the field is, but gotta start somewhere.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. street beater

street beater Road Train Member