My first year as a Dot Foods driver

Discussion in 'Discuss Your Favorite Trucking Company Here' started by Cobarchie, Jan 30, 2016.

1. Cobarchie

Cobarchie Bobtail Member

Oct 9, 2014
    First off, just to nip stuff in the bud for those who don’t qualify; you have to live within a 100 mile radius from a DC or a drop yard to work for Dot. Now that’s been made clear…

I went to college for ten years, I've got four degrees, one of which is a doctorate, I worked as a physician for a group in a clinic billing upwards of 800 thousand dollars a month after I stopped running my own practice, I taught middle school and high school and I even taught college for a few years. Why, you might ask, would a guy like me drive a truck for a living?

Time. Time is the simple answer. Time spent working, time spent getting paid, time away from work and time with family. Money isn’t everything; time is more valuable.

I had driven a truck for a few years before I decided to better myself through education and I remembered you got paid for what you did in that industry. For years after graduating I had been a salaried slave... it didn't matter how much I worked, I still got paid the same.

As a doctor and a teacher I had zero time to myself. I literally worked 17-18 hours a day at what I was doing. I was home every night, but I wasn't really home. My family were mere feet away from me in other rooms of the house, but I was stuck in my office working until it was time to pass out. Why not go back over the road? I wasn’t ever doing anything at home anyway.

I figured I'd go back to driving where I'd at least have to shut down after a certain amount of time instead of working myself around the clock and I'd probably have more time to myself and more time with my family. Of course, picking the right company was essential in seeing that assumption come true; that first company I drove for had me out for months at a time. That was ok as a single man, but a family man needs something else.