My new adventure with PTL

Discussion in 'PTL' started by DenaliDad, Jul 10, 2015.

1. DenaliDad

DenaliDad Retired Wheel Dog

I will just start by saying I ended my employment with Western Express on Friday and started with PTL on Monday. I've never done that before and didn't plan on it this time, but my DM had me make one last trip, a week after the end my 2-week notice. It turned out to be a good thing, even though I grumbled a bit...okay, a lot. My last paycheck was the biggest so far...$1,300 before taxes. And I was a company driver! So yes, given the right combination of factors, you can get big bucks with Western as a flatbed driver.

It just wasn't for me. After falling off twice, getting smacked by the breaker bar once, and developing chronic joint pain in my knuckles from hauling tarps up and down - and not having an APU for comfort - the risk became too much and I gave it up a couple of days short of 3 months. I wanted a company that had equipment with an APU, and PTL does. I communicated with one of their marketing managers for a couple of weeks and here I am, sitting in the sleeper berth of a 2012 ProStar+ with 415,000 miles on it. Most likely, it is in its way to the auction block soon, so maybe I'll get one of the new Freighliner Evos that are sitting on the back lot...

Or not. In either case, I will jot down some thoughts about my time here.

So if you are interested in reading about what I do and where I go (non-specific, of course; one must be aware of security at all times) then subscribe! I will write and you can read. For now, it's off to SB for my 10!

Last edited: Jul 11, 2015
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. popcorn169

popcorn169 Road Train Member

Sep 5, 2011
    state of confusion
    Best of luck at your new home. I will enjoy reading about your new journey. Glad you found a company that has the apu that you need.

4. DtEarth