Need some advice in becoming a o/o

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Jet0701, Oct 22, 2016.

1. Jet0701

Jet0701 Bobtail Member

Oct 22, 2016
    I am a fairly new truck driver I have about 3 year old experience . Mostly in the oilfields of south Texas with some OTR. I am looking to buy a used truck for OTR .. The advice I am looking for is who would be my best choice to lease on with .. I am looking to run teams with my girl friend eventually we want to run on our authority ..thank you very much in advance

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    Too many variables to give a perfect answer. First, if you plan to run coast to coast, then you need a CARB compliant truck to enter California. Google : California CARB compliant trucks
    If you plan to haul produce out of California, then look at trucks spec'd for that, such as used truck from TransAm.
    For flatbed, look at used truck from Melton Truck Lines; their trucks spec'd for flatbed work.
    Both TransAm and Melton trucks are equipped with Tripac APU.
    Study the www.OOIDA.com website which is a business website for the owner-operator.

Post what type trucking you're interested in and plenty of knowledgable owner-operators on here for advice on companies to lease with.
    @Wooly Rhino is a new o/o on here that's been shopping around and can give you some advice, plus many others such as @double yellow They can also give you advice on why not to buy a truck with MaxxForce engine.

Last edited: Oct 22, 2016
    Terry270, thejackal and Garvian Thank this.
  4. TallJoe

TallJoe Road Train Member

Apr 12, 2016
    Chicagoland