New Dispatcher Needing Advice

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by LauraC11, Aug 27, 2015.

1. LauraC11

LauraC11 Bobtail Member

Aug 27, 2015
    Hey Everyone!!
    I am currently in training to become an independent dispatcher and was hoping some of you guys could give me some advice. My husband is a driver and I have heard his opinions on his dispatchers but would like to hear from other people as well.

* Do you prefer working with a dispatcher or taking the time to book your own loads?

* What could a dispatcher do to make your job easier?

* Any other advice you guys have is greatly appreciated. I am brand new to this industry so I am open
    to hearing ideas...

Thanks,
    Laura

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Ougigoug

Ougigoug Heavy Load Member

Dec 4, 2012
    Planet earth
    COMMUNICATION is really important between you and the driver but also with the shipper/receiver get as much info's as you can from your customers and pass them on to your drivers.

The most important thing to me is honesty don't BS either drivers/customers and everything should be fine.

I am self dispatch but i use to be dispatch by a women who have never ever driven a truck and she was good fair honest her expectations were realist....

Good luck

LauraC11 and icsheeple Thank this.
  4. icsheeple

icsheeple Trailing the Herd

Nov 1, 2013
    Kansas City, KS
  5. LauraC11

LauraC11 Bobtail Member

Aug 27, 2015
    Thanks for the quick reply Ougigoug! What made you switch to self dispatch?

Ougigoug Thanks this.
  6. Ougigoug

Ougigoug Heavy Load Member

Dec 4, 2012
    Planet earth

I switch job and this new gig is all dedicated stuff, i am dealing directly with customers 95% of the time the 5% left is special projects involving more peoples.

We do have dispatch i just don't deal with them.

LauraC11 Thanks this.
  7. stormy379

stormy379 Medium Load Member

Jan 19, 2014