New driver new career

Discussion in 'Canadian Truckers Forum' started by RDBG, Jun 27, 2016.

1. RDBG

RDBG Medium Load Member

Jun 23, 2016
    Getting a job as a new driver is very doable as I understand. My question is this. How are people going about getting them on the hook while still having a couple months of school school? They will happily take an abstract license resume application FAST card or any other standard stuff, or some have even told me in so many words I shouldn't even be applying till my road test is done. I want to get to work after school ASAP but I don't want to be forced to cram a job search and such a decision into too short a time frame.

Ideally I'm trying to do flatbed or some variation of it with an eye toward heavy and oversize stuff later on whilst hopefully steering clear of Schneider Bison Challenger and the like. Any suggestions on my approach companies to try (I am in SW Ontario) or anything for that matter I'm all eyes and ears. I'm new to the industry but definitely not to life.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Yves kanevil

Yves kanevil Medium Load Member

Jan 10, 2016
    Nighthawk
    After training you will more than likely have to work for one of the companies you mentioned to get at least a years experience before better companies would consider hiring you

4. uncleal13

uncleal13 Road Train Member

Apr 9, 2009
    Humboldt, Sk
    Before Muskoka was bought out by Titanium. A young fellow just hung around the shop, I think he knew one of the mechanics. He eventually conned them into letting him pull trucks in and out of the shop. Got his license, they put him on team with my brother-in-law for about six months, then sent him out on his own.

5. RDBG

RDBG Medium Load Member

Jun 23, 2016
    Pffff......nope. Starting with a good smaller flatbed company Tuesday. I've had my licence less than a week.

6. Peelsession