New grad considering 2 different Schneider dedicated accounts

Discussion in 'Schneider' started by Pilchuck, Apr 23, 2016.

1. Pilchuck

Pilchuck Bobtail Member

Apr 23, 2016
    Western WA.
    As a new grad, I have gotten to the point of having to decide between two different Schneider dedicated accounts. Both of the routes originate in the same metro area about 200 miles away from my home. Both are similar in that they are home weekly.

The accounts are Dollar Tree and Anheuser-Busch . The details are:
    Dollar Tree- 1600-1800 miles/week .31 cpm + .02 quarterly bonus. $95 per full trailer unload, with 3-4 unloads/per week. and $25 extra stop pay (after 1st 2 stops) estimated 5 per week or $125 So weekly pay in the $950 to 1050 range. There is also a sign on bonus on this route. However dealing with difficult store employees, and difficult backing situations makes this less than an obvious choice.

Anheuser-Busch: apx 1900 miles/wk .40 cpm +.02 quarterly bonus. so pay in the 760 range per week. This route also has lots of midnight to 4am starts, which is fine for making miles but being shifted on sleeping on the 2 off days could be a problem. And sleeping during the day can be tough at times.

There is lots of info on the Dollar Tree account on this site, very little on the AB route. I am torn because I see the positives in both. As well as some negatives. I am very large and active, and the physical nature of the DT route actually appeals to me.The no unloading aspect of the beer run could lead to getting fat:)
    So, more money, better hours, and harder work vs less work, less money, and odd hours.