New Tanker Driver Questions

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by tnkrdrvr1979, Sep 1, 2015.

1. tnkrdrvr1979

tnkrdrvr1979 Bobtail Member

Sep 1, 2015
    Received an offer to begin work with Trimac as a regional tanker driver and have a few questions?
    I will most likely be driving southeast area only and will be out two to three weeks and home a couple days for every week out on a dedicated route.
    Was wondering how most of their trucks are equipped if they have inverters already installed and idling policy etc. I am new to this industry and realize I have a lot to learn but my previous career had me away from home more than this should so don't anticipate that being a problem. However, I previously lived in hotels many days a year but realize this will be a different deal. Are most trucks equipped with wifi or will it be my responsibility to use cell phone "hotspot" etc when parked at truck stops for rest periods. Should I anticipate delays between loads resulting in waiting around away from home and not getting paid? I am sure I will have many questions and begin their training program in a couple of weeks. From what I have read and heard, they appear to be a decent company and the managers I have spoken with seem to be ok to work with regarding scheduling etc. Any thoughts appreciated.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. kemosabi49

kemosabi49 Trucker Forum STAFF Staff Member

Jan 13, 2013
    SW Arkansas
    Don't expect wi-fi in a truck. Major truckstop chains offer wi-fi for a price but better off using your phone. I don't run for Trimac but do run tank. Trimac is a good company and they should keep you going without sitting around.

tnkrdrvr1979 Thanks this.
  4. pattyj

pattyj Road Train Member

Jul 19, 2008
    Sioux City,ia