new to trucking

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by truckepreneur, Jul 7, 2015.

1. truckepreneur

truckepreneur Bobtail Member

Jul 7, 2015
    howdy folks!

new to the forum here because i have a very high interest in the trucking business.

in short, I am a business owner and I do not want to drive myself because I'm busy going to school and I have my other business. I saved up some cash and would like to invest into a trucking company of my own. I HAVE NO KNOWLEDGE in the industry so please be patient with my beginner questions. Im looking to buy one truck and lease to a driver and perhaps buy more in the future to employ other drivers.

I and

First, what are the monthly expenses of this business?
    Second, what are the price ranges for good, used, reliable trucks that are dependable and last for some time
    Last, would I be able to make money starting off with one driver and one truck if I were to dispatch up to 1500 miles out? (based in Sacramento)

Thanks guys for all the help you offer

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Dr_Fandango44

Dr_Fandango44 Road Train Member

Aug 27, 2012
    Austin, TX
    Wow, you really like to put your head in the lions mouth.
    There are too many variables with the questions you are asking. Two things stand out first. Should I buy new or used?
    And how to I find a good productive and dependable driver.
    You are going to get a plethora of answers on both these topics on top of all the other stuff. Expenses are dependent on number of miles you do per month and of course will vary as to what type of truck you buy....new/used.