Owner operator without truck

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by trucker28truck, Jul 28, 2016.

1. trucker28truck

trucker28truck Light Load Member

Jul 28, 2016
    US mainland
    Hello truckers.
    I am a freshman here and i am blind as newly born kitty about truck business.
    I am planning to start driving a flatbed with gross weght not exceeding 26000 pounds with my regular DL, decided to try it to see if i will manage it and then might go for CDL.
    My question is, the company where i found a job told me i have to get my own DOT number for the truck that i will use(which belongs to company). The reason they said they dont want to be responsible for drivers fines and all traffic violations that drivers might have.
    So how this can affect me to be owner operator on company truck? what are cons and pros? how about taxation for cargo etc?
    And how this affect the company itself? do they pay less tax?
    What in my situation the best options are not to get involved into any tricks? with this DOT number?
    I dont know why but this explanation that they dont want to be liable for my traffic tickets is a bit strange.
    P.S. the offerd 40 cents a mile from the start.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Blackshack46

Blackshack46 Road Train Member

Are you going to do hotshot? Class 8 truck? I'm really confused....

NavigatorWife and Mudguppy Thank this.
  4. Blackshack46

What are you going to haul under 26000 pounds gross with a trailer? A box of pillows? Take out boxes?

This is so confusing, it's frustrating.

And then your a freshman? In school?

Gahhhh!

Mudguppy Thanks this.
  5. thelushlarry

thelushlarry Road Train Member

Jan 9, 2012
    glasgow ky
    I do not know but he said 26,000 gross. Heck I used to put that in my little red wagon when I was a kid!

CruisingAlong and Blackshack46 Thank this.
  6. trucker28truck