P&D Rookie Advice (Post yours)

Discussion in 'LTL and Local Delivery Trucking Forum' started by road_runner, Oct 15, 2016.

1. road_runner

road_runner Road Train Member

Mar 26, 2012
    Montucky
    So where to start. I've been doing P&D for three years now. Had about 9 years of previous driving experience. Most was all linehaul of some sort. Turns out P&D lets you be home during the daytime, so I switched to it. I am not gonna talk to much about that since I have enough threads going on that subject. What I will talk about is some stuff I wish I would have known when I first started.

For those that don't know what P&D is, it stands for "Pickup and Delivery". In the world of LTL, you are the CDL equivalent of the UPS or FedEx Ground guy going door to door delivering stuff. Difference is, you will drive a tractor trailer, you will deliver freight that is almost always more than 50 lbs, and you will have to think on your feet on how to get it off your trailer and into the custody of your customer. Speaking of customers, most of your freight will be B2B while probably less than 10% will be B2C. You will usually pick-up or deliver a combined total of 15-28 bills on an average day. Our parcel counterparts run over 150 stops on average. Even at less than 20% of the workload, your day will probably still be as hectic and stressful due to the nature of the freight.

One thing I had going for me was I knew how to back. Jacknife backing a 9 ft wide liftgate to line up with a 10 ft wide double door? - No problem. Blindside it off of a 4 lane busy roadway while blocking two lanes? - Piece of cake. If you are good at backing, you will do OK with this job. If you are an expert confident backer, you will do really well. Anything less than that, you will have a crap time doing P&D until you get your backing skills down. Keep that in mind.

So here is some stuff that I wish I knew before hand:

1. Use Google maps.